Belgian made rifle

Happy Tuesday everyone

Today I was doing some gun cleaning after the range day. The rifle you see in the photos is Belgian made FN F2000S. With a standard STANAG or NATO magazine with 5.56 caliber.

 "296349942_454884042927694_9080475265875967057_n.jpg"

The rifle itself was not my favorite when I first saw it. It isn't as durable and sturdy as the trusty old AK, but I found out it has its perks over time.

It is extremely light due to the polymer material it is mostly made of. It is short due to its bullpup mechanism, so its good for use in CQB (close quarters battle). And while some complain that the rifle jams a lot. I have only ever experienced 1 jam and it was due to the rounds not being inserted 100% properly into the magazine. And most of the jams I saw others experience were due to this reason. A problem easily remedied by striking your helmet, vest or other hard surface with magazine before inserting it into the rifle, so that the bullets are "seated" into the magazine properly.

So the rifle is light and short, which makes it is easier to shoot without forward support. Easier to maneuver in confined spaces and is still pretty reliable.

 "296329877_2143089962538278_1671594756830863931_n.jpg"

One thing I don't understand, is the ejection tube just above the barrel. It ejects all the spent cartridges via this tube. And the one and only upside I see here is that when you empty the barrel the cartridge will go into the tube where it will stay until you take it out and not "fly" away while you are finishing with the safety procedure and than have to go look for the cartridge on the ground. But the downside is the entire mechanism which adds a lot of moving parts into the weapons operating system which means a lot more room for malfunction. As I said, I haven't experienced anything like that yet but I am sure it is possible and that it happened before.

Overall I think it is a good rifle and would recommend it to any firearm enthusiasts out there. Stay safe when handling your guns!

If you like my content feel free to follow me 🙂

Sort:  

Hi there, @outdoorlife has curated your post on behalf of the outdoors and more community. Using #outdoorlife as the first tag on posts of this type helps us find you, as will posting in the community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

All images belong to @galenkp

FN2000s are cool guns. If I was more of a collector I would probably hunt one down. Maybe I'll be able to shoot one some day.

In my country it is standard issiue for the armed forces.

A modern weapon. The same amunition as the Steyr AUG.

Congratulations @crossedmat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!