You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The keys

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

Mazel Tov! That is the important thing! Being able to get in. Hopefully, I will never need it, but, if I do, I think I have it covered. No... I have it covered. I am pretty fortunate in that we have never (knock on wood) had any break-ins or any vandalism here. I left the garage door open with all of the tools, saws, etc out on display for three days while I was at the shore house and came back to the doors open wide! I opened the door with the remote (hey! whatsa behind me, I donta care!) Oh, my! it totally freaked me out, but, guess what? Not a thing was touched.

Never happened again. For sure.

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

I grew up in an area where we locked nothing, ever. These days...Nah, everything is locked. It's sad really.

It sounds like I'd like your suburb; sounds safe and a nice neighbourhood. (Neighborhood, for you Americans.) 😊

Oh don't worry I sometimes read pretty good Aussie. I think it's amazing especially living right outside of Washington DC. But we do feel fortunate and there are many neighborhoods like this in the US, especially small towns but sometimes larger ones too. My family lives all over the US and nobody has any issues with their neighborhood which like you say is pretty awesome. My house out on the shore is even better because nobody out there locks anything.

I'd like that. There's places like that here of course, and I don't live in a bad neighbourhood myself, but I still lock things up. I guess it's just habit now.

You don't have to live in a bad neighborhood to have petty crimes. You know how bored kids act. :) Bad neighborhoods protect each other. I was in the habit of locking up, so I still do. Of course, the people on the shore think I am crazy, but, the people on this side understand it. I always err on the side of caution. I have nothing to lose by that.

It's a good habit, for sure.