You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Levelling up to go long

in Outdoors and more4 years ago (edited)

Thanks mate.

Ok, so gravity cold be deemed as affecting the projectile more as it's relentless. Although if the wind is powerful enough it will also affect the bullet greatly, maybe even more than gravity. Have a look at the snapshot I just did real quick off my ballistics calculator.

Go right down to 1000m.

So I set the wind speed at 25mph full value, that is from 90 degrees to the bullet trajectory which means it has the most amount of affect upon it...Hence full value.

See the MRAD adjustments?

  • 1000m elevation adjustment is 13 MRAD
  • 1000m windage adjustment is only 10 MRAD

So, gravity has the most effect. See how that works?

Just for the record I did 30 mph full value also...That's a fast wind...the windage dial is still only 12 MRAD.

At 35mph the windage adjustment is 14 MRAD, the elevation still 13 MRAD...So see the switch-over point?

I hope this helps.

Screenshot_20200521-224845_Strelok Pro.jpg

I spend hours running data like this to ensure I have a clue on what I may expect in various situsrions.

Re: Humidity...I wrote about that a few weeks ago. Yes it also affects the shot as does altitude.

Sort:  

Ah, interesting. It's fascinating to see the data get broken up like this. Even just 5mph can have quite the impact on the bullet's arc. Cheers :-)

1mph makes a difference. If it is not accounted for then it can mean a miss. The further the range the more this matters.

The smallest variables can make a difference... :-)