Sort:  

I didn't mention it because I wasn't sure a red dot would be good enough, but as far as they go I think the SPARC Solar is a great option for survival. It's a T-2 clone dot that has a solar panel on top and they claim up to 150,000 hours (~17 years) battery life with some help from the sun. And they use CR2032 batteries so if yours ever ran down, a replacement is small/lightweight and if you don't have a replacement, they're common enough in PCs, laptops, etc that you might be able to scavenge one.

I've went with the holosun 507v2 with a scalerworks cowitness mount. With Troy irons for versatility. I can slap it on anything.

Lighter weight is important if you run a stock receiver. Just a hint. Bigger and you have more stress from recoil. Besides any hits...

Good point on weight with a micro red dot

Couple bucks more... But they are so easy to swap. If you got a dope book you can record your offset and change zero then single shot to reconfirm.

Or me. 3 rounds or less and it's back. I've done it in a single round before. With sandbags.

A PCC or AR with a red dot is a sweet setup, too. If you want a gun that can reach out further, a flip-up magnifier is nice. I knew a guy who had the Tactical Tuna so equipped, and it was surprisingly capable despite the unavoidably atrocious bullpup trigger and weird ergonomics. I wish I had that kind of money...

Bear creek arsenal. Sweet AR-15 uppers. Lower? About$200-250.

And the magnifier throws your rifle balance off. I tried it. Really not for me. If I need magnification. Take off my reddot. Put my quick detach scope on Ang flip the switch on my mounts.

On the FN, it worked better since the balance is already so weird anyway. I could see avoiding it altogether and just choosing one optic option on an AR.

QD flip magnifiers are the best of both worlds since you don't have to check zero with em. If it's too heavy and unbalancing the gun, just take it off and back into the bag. Sure to be lighter than a full scope and mount too.