You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This one's for you

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Great info!

Running the 5.56 in a gun chambered for .223 could result in harm to the rifle, the operator, or both, due to the increased pressures. I won't go right into it though; You get the idea.

But you can run the other way around, and often you find .223 in the states cheaper than 5.56. There are tradeoffs, but if you're just plinking with your 5.56... There are other examples, such as you can also run .38 rounds in a .357 revolver. Also a lot cheaper and less bone jarring when shooting a little J frame.

Sort:  

Hey man, thanks for reading and commenting. Yeah, you're spot on...I wouldn't want to have my life dependant on .223 in a 5.56 system (or to have the rounds mixed in there) but if just playing around it's legit (cheaper) as you say. You're ex-military right? Did you have much to do with the 5.56 in your role? I've fired a few here and like it way better than the .223, but then I'm a long range shooter so appreciate MV and a better trajectory. I use my .223 for foxes mainly but typically end up behind the .243 and snipe them from way back. Lol.

You're ex-military right? Did you have much to do with the 5.56 in your role?

Yeah, that's what we qualified with. It was still the M16 back when I first joined. That and the Baretta M9. I recently finished building an AR15 pistol from the lower up, there's a whole lot of interesting laws surrounding those in the US. I was thinking about writing a post about it eventually.

Hey that's pretty cool, the AR15 pistol...You should post it although for some reason around here people don't seem too keen on posting gun stuff. I'll keep an eye out for it though.

The ADF (Australian Defence Force) use the 5.56 for individual weapons; The F88 Austeyer by Steyr Mannlicher AG, made under license here in Aus. Lightweight (3.6kg unloaded), accurate and durable. Looks bloody weird. Decent weapon though.

AUG_A1_508mm_04.jpg

I've always thought those look cool, but what's it like having the magazine up against your forearm? More stability?

They're a pretty cool gun to fire, you sort of get all snugged up over it and it becomes a part of you, having the magazine there seems to offer a little more to hang onto I think. Sort of. I'm probably doing a really bad job of describing it. They had some at my range a while back (it's a military range) and a few people got to fire them...There were no complaints and a lot of smiles. They sort of look like a space gun or something. Star Wars.