First Solo Hike of 2024: Trading Leftovers for Landscapes

Happy New Year, hivers!

I was supposed to write a continuation of our Siargao experience that was long overdue, but adulting got in the way, or in my case, a lack of focus and priorities. Always getting distracted by other things, hence this long gap in my posting. I always tell myself to write after work, but Buffy always gets in the way. LOL, I have been binge-watching it since December on Disney+, and I could not stop.

IMG_2622.JPG

Going back to the topic, after getting back from the province for the New Year celebration with my family, I decided to embark on a solo hike to Kan-irag Campsite in Sirao via Budlaan Falls. I was hesitant to do it again because of what happened last November 2023, but I was really determined to burn off the holiday fats that I gained.

IMG_2632.JPG

IMG_2630.JPG

I started walking from my place to Sunny Hills where motorcycles were waiting bound for Sitio Baugo. I really wanted to walk from there to Sitio Baugo, but I started around 8 AM already, and I needed to finish it by lunchtime, so I decided to take the motorcycle taxi for Php70.

IMG_2629.JPG

IMG_2628.JPG

I arrived in Sitio Baugo around 8:45 AM and had to fill up my flask with water at the store at the jump-off and immediately started hiking. Some parts of the road/trail were muddy from the vehicles passing by; they had already started cementing the road leading to some communities near the river.

IMG_2627.JPG

IMG_2626.JPG

IMG_2625.JPG

Twenty-five minutes later, I arrived at the main waterfall. I initially thought of taking the shortcut, but I remembered that the NGCP people are still constructing the tower on the trail leading to the last falls, so I had no choice but to head down to the main waterfall.

IMG_2624.JPG

IMG_2623.JPG

I was glad that it was just me at the falls that time, except for the dog that accompanied me from the start. But I was also worried that there was nobody to help in case things went south. Haha

I stayed there until I got a better picture of myself. I had to lean my phone on the wall and set a timer to take the pictures. Haha

I decided to continue when I saw dark clouds looming above; I didn't want to trend on social media for getting stuck at the falls when heavy rain falls. LOL

IMG_2621.JPG

IMG_2620.JPG

Climbing up the tricky part of the trail, I decided to take my time. Although the noise from the people from the tower nearby gave me a sense of relief that whatever happens, I could shout and ask for help.

IMG_2618.JPG

IMG_2619.JPG

IMG_2617.JPG

IMG_2616.JPG

And I arrived at the part where the incident happened. But I was happy that they already installed a rope there because it got very slippery with nothing to hold on to. There were some NGCP people going down, so I waited for them to finish. And finally, I climbed up safe and sound.

IMG_2613.JPG

IMG_2614.JPG

The next part of the trail is just going to be breezy.

I arrived at the basketball court around 10:30 AM; it was quiet with a few kids playing on their phones. I stayed there for 30 minutes just laying on the bamboo benches.

IMG_2610.JPG

IMG_2612.JPG

After a refreshing soft drink, I decided to hit the trail. I was undecided on which trail to take but ended up going to Kan-irag Campsite. I think it's been a year or two since the last time we camped there with my friends. But when I arrived at the junction that supposedly goes directly to the entrance near the Lumboy (Duhat) tree, but couldn't find that trail anymore, so I decided to follow the clear and established trail that led me to the entrance at the back of the campsite.

IMG_2608.JPG

IMG_2607.JPG

IMG_2599.JPG

IMG_2598.JPG

IMG_2606.JPG

I went straight to the store to pay the entrance fee of Php30 and logged my name on the logbook. It was already lunchtime, and I was starving, but there was no bread available, so I decided to order cup noodles.

IMG_2601.JPG

IMG_2603.JPG

IMG_2600.JPG

IMG_2602.JPG

The caretaker told me I could stay in one of the empty huts, which was nice of them. I took my noodles and stayed at one of the huts, just enjoying the fresh air and the view of the city.

Wish I had a hammock with me so I could just stay there and sleep. LOL

It was 12:30 PM when I decided to continue walking.

IMG_2636.JPG

IMG_2637.JPG

IMG_2635.JPG

IMG_2633.JPG

While exiting the campsite, I was thinking about which way is the best and the fastest way to get home.

IMG_2593.JPG

I was torn between the trail that will circle me back to Sitio Baugo, but we got lost on that trail the last time we went there with @iamcjestrada and some joiners, and I can't risk getting lost without company. LOL So I only had one option left, which is the trail going to Busay Holiday Pools.

From the abandoned golf course in Malubog, I went straight to Busay Holiday Pools. It was almost 1 PM, and I still had to sleep because I had work that night. Haha

IMG_2591.JPG

IMG_2590.JPG

IMG_2587.JPG

IMG_2586.JPG

IMG_2585.JPG

After the long and steep hike on the cemented road that leads to Busay Holiday Pools, I arrived there after 30 minutes. I waited there at the waiting shed for a jeepney to arrive, but it did not happen. I ended up hailing a motorcycle taxi going to JY Square for Php150.

IMG_2584.JPG

But my journey doesn't end there. Haha I was already starving, and I was craving for some Pork Sisig. Good thing Silogan ni Gian is just a few meters away. I ordered my all-time favorite Sisigsilog and an extra pork chop. Yum!

IMG_2582.JPG

IMG_2581.JPG

I guess that's it for now. I am hoping that in 2024, I still get to do the things that I love, like hiking, camping, and beaching with the people that matter. Cheers to the new year!

28616565_2201449899869083_213856441219804692_o.jpg

About the Author

Meet Kevin de Arca, a Data Analyst by profession and an adventurous wanderer at heart. With a passion for exploring new places and cultures, he uses traveling as a way of distressing and making unforgettable memories. He is always wondering where to wander next.✈️ 🏖 🌅

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2115.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you sooooo much @livinguktaiwan and @pinmapple team! 🙏

Yayyyy! Welcome back, ser arc! 🥳 Mahala najud bitaw sa motor oy. Mamalik ta diri, lakaw from Talamban. Hehe

Haha kitakitsssss

Nah knsa jud to naka-saag2x paglast 🤪 bwahaha! Welcome back ser arc

salamat ser, balik nasad hahah

Congratulations @kev.incredible! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 70 posts.
Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

What a hike! The rope added an extra-difficulty-feels lol

Hahah that's what makes it fun lol

That's so brave of you to hike alone! If it were me, I would be anxious. Gorgeous view, btw!

Thank you 😊

What a beautiful hike that was! I had a chuckle to myself about the thoughts you had of getting stuck and trending on social media, as I had the same thoughts this weekend when we drove up a very steep rutted mountain track as I imagined us rolling all the way to the bottom, Maybe do not tackle a hike like that solo, one never knows! But thankfully you had a super hike, stunning photos as well @kev.incredible!

Thanks for the concern. 😊🙏