You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Golden hours and sleeping kangaroos

in Outdoors and more2 months ago

Didn't find in the top picture, but sure enjoyed looking and "hunting" for it in your spot!
Lovely area, just need a higher zoom level for my eyes!

Here in the south, we call those "dirt naps" because they look so cozy and quiet laying in the dirt. That looks pretty good sized one, hard for us inexperienced to judge size/weight, but guessing maybe around 75 lbs / 34 kg?

Will look forward to finding out where it really is in the top pic, and hoping you'll clue us in if no one gets it on their own.

Sort:  

It was probably a little heavier than that, maybe 40kg...They're pretty dense buggers. This one was a good sleeper though.

I took the image with my phone, the kangaroos are at almost 300m so I didn't expect anyone to see them as blowing the image up just pixelates the image. I'll circle them if I remember tomorrow.

Knowing you, I figured it would be a ways out. It's just a dark blob for me at 500% zoom, but this is what I thought might be it just from rough size and contrast...

 2 months ago (edited) 

That's a good spot...but no it's a stump.

original_22ce45b3-8bec-4b5d-b9b5-1fd0424760a7_20240328_191641.jpg

There's two...one not far off the fence line which is stretching forward to crop grass and a smaller one facing away from the camera to the left and slightly lower (within the blue marked area.)

I didn't shoot at them in these positions, just over 340m, but they made their way a little lower off the crest about the middle of that area below where the second, smaller, one is in the image. That brough them to slightly under 300m. They were not big ones, maybe about a third smaller than the one that took a nap right next to me rifle. I didn't think people would find them as neither actually looks like a kangaroo standing up, because they're not standing up. with a side profile.

Tks for pointing out, barely recognizable with the direction and still mainly just a blur. Where's that ultra high-res? lol.. Envious of the area and love seeing the pics.