You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Range day with the BDay rifle

in Outdoors and more3 years ago

Exactly right. I guess I've been testing my handloads and pellets so long that I lost touch. I never really tested much factory stuff before. I also get like 5-8 fps SD and less than 15-20 Extreme. (Even lower on the pellets across 20 shots!). I was just floorstruck when I saw that 100 fps Extreme Spread between only 5 shots! I was assuming they would be maybe 40-50 fps extreme deviation. Even at 30-40 fps, that's an inch at 500 yards... at 100 fps, that's over 3 inches difference! Already over the size group I am hoping for, assuming everything else is perfect (and I'm not)! I need every inch I can get without losing it to poor quality ammo lol.

Sort:  

I can't recall exactly as it's been so long since I've tried to shoot with precision using factory rounds (because they suck) but I reckon my best SD was something like 20-30 with factory rounds. It's ok at certain ranges and in particular situations but when the need to thread a needle arises...It's not acceptable.

I'm like an OCD accountant when handloading for rifle calibres...Check. Re-check. Sip coffee. Check and re-check. Corn chip or two. Check...Then proceed. Lol.