You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drones - Cameras - and Guns

in Outdoors and more3 years ago

My model does not have a zoom feature, but the Mavic 2 Zoom model does :) Camera is not quite as good for low light, but still very acceptable and even has a super high res mode for stills that combines multiple shots into one.

For these shots, I pulled the drone in as close as it would go with the object sensors active. That keeps me from actually running into the target, and ended up being about 6 feet away. So yes, maybe still some danger from splatter or ricochet.

Considering it saves me the money from buying a range cam setup, and that I've had it for a couple years now, I wouldn't be quite as upset if it got damaged. I did get the full extended warranty with it when I bought it, but I'm sure it would be a non-winning battle trying to claim a gunshot damage. Maybe not for folks that add a tag onto their homeowners insurance like many do...

and yes the video definitely good quality to do some slowmo in post processing. Look for that later this summer! I can't wait to get out and try this at 500-600 yards, my spotting scope doesn't quite give me a good enough view at that distance and this will give me the same view out there as it did here.

Sort:  

Kris: My drone is malfunctioning can you replace it under warranty?
Manufacturer: Hmm, that's no good, I'm sure we can. What happened?
Kris: I shot it a little bit with my 22-250
Manufacturer: Get...Out!

I can see a definite use for the drone for this purpose and with it at 6 feet away probably little risk of splatter...The lead basically goes to powder on steel anyway, especially at the speeds it's impacting at.

Rotfl

😬