Speaking of Trigger Control

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

I was very pleased to post a new personal record this weekend. 24 shots at 50 yards under half inch (.37 inch). And I was able to capture it on scope cam. See if you can dismiss this one brother! Lol, my brother and I often gouge each others claims.

FXImpact24shots50yards.jpg

The video, kind of cool to watch them fly in. It looks like the first 10-15 shots were all under a quarter inch, then spread a bit.

The specs:
FX Impact MKI .30 Caliber PCP Air Rifle (Pellet Gun)
.30 Caliber - 44.75gr JSB pellets @ 890 fps
Scope - Vortex PST Gen II 5-25x50 FFP MRAD
ScopeCam - Sideshot with Hero7 GoPro

This has Just under 80 ft. lbs of energy at the muzzle, but most important was the consistency, only 3.32 fps std deviation across all 24 shots. This level does not typically happen from the factory, whether using firearms, handloads, or air rifles. It took just a bit of tuning to get it here. One of the reasons I like this rifle, it has many adjustments to allow that level of tweaking, similar to the control I get from hand loading firearm ammo.

FXImpactChrono44gr20200627.jpg

Here is the BallisticX software app view to measure the groups.

FXImpact24shots50yards.png

A little view of the shooting target at the far top center. 50 yards is about the max flat distance I have to shoot at home. The other choice is either shoot down some steep hills (which affects impact, maybe a topic for another post), or make a trip to the range. I'm excited to test this new load and settings out at 100 yards next.
IMG_20200627_161649.jpg

Sort:  

Wow those pellet guns are very accurate..Cam scope video a blast...

I find myself really enjoying it even more than the others because it's so convenient to just pull out and play anytime without needing hearing protection or having to drive to the range. Even folks with smaller yards can easily build a trap to catch the pellets and not worry about disturbing neighbors.

All good reasons .. plus cheaper on ammo..

Well, if you're not happy with that there's something wrong with you! Lol.

I love how the video shows the movement in the gun through the scope. Movies always depict reticles as steady, totally still, but they never are. Nice video. You're a bad influence o me as now I want one of those cameras.

Yes, they are a fantastic training aid as well as fun. Of course with the larger rifles, you often don't get to see the follow thru as well. Fantastic detecting those tiny pre-trigger jiggles before the shots though, and funny how you can identify where some shots are off the mark, even though you thought they were spot-on at the time. The pellet rifles are cool because if lighting is right, you can even play back in slow motion and watch the pellet in flight. I haven't tried this with "real" bullets yet. They do offer a phone mount that is less expensive than the gopro mount, but I think the gopro gives better output and has better image stabilization depending on model.

I've never had a camera mounted to any of my guns. I was going to get a phone one but never got around to it. I need to get one arranged. I'd like to film trace. It looks amazing at long range, you know, watching the bullet make it's way to the target. I've watched it through the spotting scope, so cool.

I'll get around to it one day I guess.

Impressive!

Woah, that's some insane accuracy! How much you spend on that air rifle? I'm kinda o we taking five shots to hit a squirrel at 10 yards with my dinky $50 .177 pump gun.

Well, this one's a little higher in the price ladder, around $2K. I did have excellent 50 yard accuracy out of a Benjamin Marauder .22 cal. that can pick up for a few hundred. I have to say this larger caliber, higher power worth it for me. I shoot it more now than anything else I have around.