Sort:  

This individual is a hand gun shooter and only does a little pig hunting now and then, not much over 100m mostly. A good shooter with a hand gun and handy at 100m so will pick up long range fairly well.

He was struggling with all the concepts at first, trying to get it all at once which is difficult; like most of us he wanted to run before he could walk and that's not going to work well with long range.

He's also not got the equipment required so is using some of mine; sub-standard scopes make long range shooting impossible. He's shooting a .308 which should be good for 1300m accurately repeatedly and further with a reduced hit probability but his scope is a low-end Vortex (some $900 or so), ok for hunting to 300m but the more it's dialed the more inaccurate each click becomes (we box tested it) so I have loaned him one of my Nightforce scopes and he's going better.

He's comfortable at 1000m (I'd not risk standing in front of him) and is creeping out a little more each time. We're focused on accuracy and a high hit probability. With some more work around wind calling he'll be fine.

Nice. I remember shooting out to 600m with the 1.6x scope on the F88 Austeyr in the Army; and a human sized target at that distance is miniscule.
I honestly wouldn't consider myself 'effective' at that kind of distance.
Video games have instilled some unreasonable expectations about how marksmanship works.

Yep I get it...at 600m I'd be using 10-12 power on my 6-24x scope. (I actually rarely use greater than 12 but may go to 14 or 16 from time to time.)

Video games have instilled some unreasonable expectations about how marksmanship works.

Yep, and it has literally no correlation to the real-life thing.