River Surfing - Bend, Oregon

in Outdoors and more9 months ago (edited)
Here are some shots of people doing a little river surfing in Bend, OR. According to this article, there is a rapid rise in the popularity of the sport. I know that most times when I visit here there is always at least 4 or 5 people and sometimes quite a few more. So take a scroll down and live vicariously through these adventurers. 😀

drs-1.jpg

divider hive1.PNG


drs-2.jpg

This place is one of the US top 7 places to river surf and also shows up as one of the top places in the world.

drs-3.jpg
The guys I saw surfing this day seemed to be pretty skilled. A lot of long rides with no spills.

drs-4.jpg
You can usually count on a few riders not lasting very long on the wave...

drs-5.jpg
Which is probably where I would be if I tried, so no judgements from me. 😅

drs-6.jpg

drs-7.jpg

drs-9.jpg
This is a cropped version of the following shot. I liked the way this angle showed the rider down in the trough with the wter up around his waist.

drs-8.jpg
I wanted to include the un-cropped version because of the guy meditating in the upper right corner while his dog watches the humans surf. Relaxation mixed with some physical activity.

drs-10.jpg

drs-20.jpg
Another view of the action from up on the bridge. This guy liked to go side to side and get some more extreme body lean going. There is probably a surfer technical term for this but I have no idea what it is. 😀

7uv8ym.gif

7uv95t.gif

And I finish with a couple Gifs I created from my still images.

Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, with a Nikon D3300 and some Lightroom post processing.
Please visit Pinmapple to see the locations of some of my other posts.
Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp