Sort:  

stoked to see you on here buddy!

@prairiemtnman13 thanks for the invite onto here!

Which ballistics solver are you using?

@galenkp In the beginning last year I wasn't using anything but later on and right now I'm using SBC Pro. It's fairly accurate to real life data and so far it's got me to be able to push out to 500m as my longest shot yet which was just before last winter. I use the ballistics app to get on or at least close to target at new distances then I dial it in and add real data to my own DOPE.

Now I'm just waiting for the only range we have here that goes to 1000m to open from restrictions so I can work towards that! Till then I'll have to continue to practice and working on my fundamentals up to 500m for now.

I have 6.5mmCM and shoot over a mile with it, repeatedly, so you'll be gtg with that calibre. I've not heard of that solver though. I use StrelockPro.

There's nothing like getting your own dope. I assume you're using factory ammo too. Once you start reloading you can work up a load tuned for your rifle and you'll get better repeatability and hit percentage as you'll be able to reduce the SD of speed of the rounds. I've been doing this for many years and know how involved it can get...So, step by step is the key. You'll get there.

@galenkp Yup that's right, just factory ammo I'm using federal fusion 140g. Totally want to get into reloading as well in the future but my plan first is to get as good and consistent as possible with the current set-up that way I can make sure that my fundamentals is all up to par then I will tune the hardware a bit more and also the ammo! Good to know you're also shooting the creedmoor, that's why I chose this caliber after months of research before getting into it!

I shoot loads of other calibres but always come back to the creed as it's just so good. Having said that my .243 shoots just as well, just not as far. I use the .243 for culling operations. My last post in the community talks about it a little.

All my rifles are finely tuned and I do load development on them so the ammo is perfectly matched. I enjoy making a rifle more accurate and whilst it's time consuming it's very worth it.

@galenkp Yeah that's pretty awesome, I can't wait to try my hand at reloading in the future it looks pretty sweet. I'll check out your post about that!