Cooey Model 62! A Canadian Legend

Well what can I say I freaking love the old guns. Always have and always will. there is something to be said about the look and the feel of an old wood stock. I think of the hands that would have touched it. I think of the game it may have taken. The smiles it may have brought to the many faces that got to launch a projectile out of her. There is a certain character that you get from an old gun that you don't from a brand new one with a cold lifeless plastic stock. That being said, onwards with my recent purchase...

A beautiful 1940s ish Cooey Model 62 repeater chambered in 22lr.

20220430_143439.jpg
I picked up this beauty at a local gun show for 125$cdn. I was very excited since I've been looking for one of these for about 1 year now. They are available but I did not want to spend the 300$ most people are asking. This particular Cooey was a little beaten up, nothing a little TLC couldn't fix. The blemishes are all cosmetic all the firing components are mint! Now the reason I was looking for this particular 22 was because it is similar to the one I grew up with. My uncle is getting the 22 once he gets his PAL since my grampa passed away and it was promised to him.
So most Canadian gun enthusiasts will know what makes a Cooey so special. I was a Canadian gun manufacture. The Cooey brand was always known for simplicity, reliability and accuracy the fact these guns are still working perfect 80 years later says something. I may go more into the History of the Cooey one day. This Model is very similar to the model 60 my granpa owned. All the internals and stocks are the same. there is but one difference.

20220430_203911.jpg

20220430_203158.jpg
So the Model62 (what I have) was only made from 1939-45 where as the Model60 was 1939-61. The only difference between the 2 was the62 came with a flat spot on the back for a peep sight and it came with a hooded target sight. They rarely survived and are super hard to find. so other then that they are the exact same rifle.

A couple of the rifle specs are that it has a tube style magazine that sits under the barrel, You can fire 22lr, 22 short 22 long. At the time they didn't know what the most common was going to be so he made it shot em all. It holds 11 rounds of 22Lr.

Since acquiring it I have fixed up all the issues I had with it, I've refinished the stock.

20220516_123446.jpg

Ive changed the front sight

And gave it a proper cleaning and oiling. I'm now excited for this to be with me and for my kids to be able to grow up and have similar memories that I had with a Canadian Legend!

Sort:  

Surely my husband will like it😁

Awesome! thanks for taking the time to read my post!

Hi there, @outdoorlife has curated your post on behalf of the outdoors and more community. Using #outdoorlife as the first tag on posts of this type helps us find you, as will posting in the community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

All images belong to @galenkp

There's something nice about getting an older firearm back to it's best, and making it work as it was intended. This is a nice fire stick mate, and I'm sure you'll put it to good use.

A beautiful work to refresh old guns!

It bring me lots of joy thats for sure!

Those are so fun to play with, aren't they? Unfortunately, in Brazil, it's very unlikely I'll be able to have a "proper" bolt action in 7.62, 303, etc. We can still have the .22. Dad has one in regular 38, super fun.

Thats awesome. Yes they are fun shooting guns. I bring it out with me every time I go out to the woods!