I'm Old school! Love my old guns! Ithaca Model 37!

in Outdoors and more2 years ago (edited)

Good evening fellow hivers!
It's been a damn long time since my last post. To say life is anything but hectic is an understatement to say the least. I'm happy to find some time to reconnect to a great community! Also it's a good time to show off my new toy/tool.
20211016_130735.jpg

An Ithaca Model 37 Featherlight pump action 12 gauge. This model is from 1972, it hold 4 rounds in the magazine and 1 in the chamber! (only allowed 2 in the mag and 1 in the chamber in Canada while hunting). This gun is ambidextrous! It loads from the bottom and ejects from the bottom. So no shells hitting you in the face if you're a left handed shooter. The gun comes with a full choke barrel but it is removable and different barrels are available. I mainly bought this gun to have the ability to hunt Geese, Ducks, Turkeys and grouse on the wing.

ithaca.png

As for recoil it hits hard. The wood stock with the little piece of hard plastic does not make it pleasant after multiple rounds. I will be adding a recoil pad to the back. Do any of you guys still hunt with or use older model shot guns?

Full video of my range and field test day Below!

Sort:  

That looks like an awesome shotgun, my dads got a Mossberg I think but I’ve yet to fire a shotgun! Hoping to get some time to in the coming years but I have a goal of getting into hunting in the coming years with our son as he gets older. My grandfather would hunt but my dad never did so I want to bring that back in the family!

that's awesome. yeah my grandpa was def the driving force for my love of hunting!

You say "old" but I was in high school when that shotgun was made. But then, I'm kind of old, so there is that...
I still have a couple of single shot shotguns from that period, one of which I bought new. I also have a Mossberg pump .410.
I haven't gone hunting for a number of years now, I just lack the ambition these days.

That's awesome. My dad has a sweet single shot .410 he grouse hunts with as well. Hunting is a lot of work, sometimes for no rewards.

Nice old classic there! My favorite was an old Mossberg bolt action 12ga shotgun, magazine fed, with a vari-choke on the end of it. I grew up with that gun, a gift from my father. My brother has it now, but still my all time favorite. Got my first quail with it, my first rabbit with it, my first squirrel with it.

That sounds like a wicked little gun. the vari choke would be wicked to have. I'm trying to keep my eyes open for used modified choke barrel. Then I would be set!

Yah, a lot of folks don't like the look, but I love the ability to just quickly turn the choke to adjust, instead of screwing the internal chokes out and in and remembering to carry them around.

LimbSaver Airtech butt pads are great for taking the kick down to a shove in pump shotguns.

i think that's the one I have for my 30-06 works great. Was def going to get the same!

Nice weather!

For this time of year in Manitoba I'll take it!