Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Yep. Well, there's other words, but that's one that's gets used now and then. It was a great post man. I sent it to @curangel for some vote love too.

I actually sent that bow-making link to one of my brothers last night. He's not a gun guy but will get value from that video. I have no doubt he'll make one...As will I.

image.png

that is so awesome to hear. If I can inspire but 1 person haha. And thanks for the send to curangel. I cant wait to get started on my first wood bow!

 3 years ago  

You're doing a lot of what he wishes to and so he will appreciate the video.

I have tried to make bows before but the wood here isn't right. I've had a few failures and gave up in disgust. Lol. I have a few...Well, let's just call them documents, about stuff...Survival stuff, military manuals etc. A few of them talk about improvised weapons and equipment...I followed the manual on bows and arrow-making but it never went anywhere. That was a few years ago...I think working with the PVC might be more my speed though, easier to work with...More forgiving. I'm a gun guy at heart, but cold-weapons are always handy to have around.

Agreed man. I'm hoping to get into some small game this fall with my bow. It would be so rewarding to get a kill with something I made myself. PVC is very forgiving and cheap. Make sure its the think stuff 35mm. It's called schedule 40 here

 3 years ago  

Being proficient in a few different methods of hunting or food gathering is probably a smart way to be...So many put all their efforts into one thing and if it fails? Not so good. Yeah, I'll look into what we have here as far as PVC goes, will be the same, maybe just called something different. You know us Aussies mate, like to be a bit different. Lol.