New Photography Tool! Cross-Country Skis

in Outdoors and morelast year (edited)

Now that the snowstorms have mellowed out here in Truckee, California, I don't have to do nearly as much snow removal. This big winter has whipped me into shape and I don't want to lose it so I thought I'd buy myself a new toy. Backcountry skis! I figure they will help keep Quill dog and I exercised now that it's spring but all the dirt trails are still buried in a ton of snow. We got out today and gave them their first try.

20230322_150649.jpeg

These are Rossignol BC 80 backcountry skis. They are definitely not made for taking to the downhill ski resorts. But they are perfect for taking the dog and/or camera out on the flatter un-groomed areas. I can take them to the nearby cross-country ski resorts if I want to for groomed trails, but they will not fit in the groomed tracks made for thinner cross-country skis. My online research and talking with an experienced salesman in a local shop led me to these. I think they will be perfect!

20230322_150403.jpeg

Here's a look at the scales on the bottom of the skis. They worked great today for helping me glide along and also for climbing gentle hills.

20230322_150756.jpeg

All the gear I bought was on sale, it's officially spring and there is usually a lot less snow on the ground. The store was out of my size boot so I had to go to another store in town to buy these Fischer boots. They also worked great so I'm not bummed.

20230322_152401.jpeg

Our goal location was Prosser Creek, near Prosser Reservoir. It's not too far of a drive from my house and it's a great spot to go in order to escape the tourist crowds.

20230322_151847.jpeg

20230322_153128.jpeg

Although I had my Canon 5DS R camera in the backpack, I did not use it. But I'm feeling confident that this new tool will help me get out to cool winter locations much further and faster than my snowshoes do. Fingers crossed, hopefully I'll have some new landscape photos to share soon thanks to the help of the skis.

20230322_153205.jpeg

Thank you for looking and have a great day!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @scottshots ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Glad to see you are enjoying with your dog. It's fun to walk around in this kind of weather. It's cold, but man, it's so much fun. You look so beautiful.

Fun indeed! It snowed more last night, hopefully I'll get out with the dog again soon...

Extending your range haha Skis look cool. I wasn't familar with backcountry skis.

Yup! But first I need to get my legs in better shape. So sore today...
The skis are really maneuverable and did great in that somewhat flat un-groomed terrain. Feeling motivated to get out more often.
Here's more info about the ski: https://www.rossignol.com/se/rhiwc15-000.html

Hi.
You have very interesting skis.
And why is there some kind of clipping on the nose of the skis?

Now I know that I need similar skis for walking. I have cross-country skiing, but they are limited to a paved ski run.
But I have not seen such skis in our stores. So I used hunting skis.

I love them and will be getting out again soon! Here's a bit more info about the skis, in case you're curious: https://www.rossignol.com/se/rhiwc15-000.html The salesman told me that these certainly won't be the best for groomed runs, but they will work. The nose of the ski looks like that because of how the optional skins attach ( https://www.rossignol.com/se/rolw108-000.html ) I didn't get the skins but I may buy them if I want to climb steeper mountains. Hunting skis sound fun too!

Looks like you really enjoy skating with your dog. It's really beautiful.

So much fun out there! Quill was happy that I was faster on our walk too.

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 155000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 160000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal