You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This one's for you

in Outdoors and more4 years ago (edited)

Cheers for sharing this, mate! I'm glad to have helped the G-dog stay productive, and to keep on writing XD

I had never learned as much about firearms until I started seeing your posts! That comparison is a pretty neat way to show how all the ammunition types stack up in terms of size, and thus capability. On that first picture though, as I was slowly scrolling down to read more stuff, I noticed that orange "thing" on the right. I thought that was a shotgun shell at first 🤣 (picture below will explain why), until I realised that it was angular, and has studs on it!

index.jpg

I heard that .50 caliber rounds are banned for civilian use in most countries, given how deadly they are. They were apparently used extensively during the WW1 as anti-tank rounds. Are you legally allowed to carry, and fire .50? If so, that must've been awesome experience, though it seems rather painful on the shoulders! Videos of Barrett M82s being fire on YouTube seem to suggest that the blowback/recoil is pretty vicious!

And thanks for the explanation between centrefire, and rimfire. Having heard these terms before, I haven't had the chance to learn of the differences 👍! On the subject of loads, and powder-weights, is this different from the grain-count that I hear often being used on weapons-channels on YT?

I've been familiar with .308 before, thanks to first-person shooter games, and with .303, since my Grandad and his mates used Lee Enfields extensively against invading Japs during WW2. I held his rifle once, but it was a long time ago, and that memorabilia of family history is lost now. And as you've explained it rather well, 9mm is the most versatile cartridge of them all, and it's something that a lot of people have been familiar with. However, I haven't heard of 6.5, .243, or .223 before though, fascinating!

gqk9d7em6kh21.jpg

You definitely don't want to chamber 5.56mm into a .223 gun (or vice-versa)... That's just bad news bears. Having watched loads of videos on old Webleys (pic above), I learned that some people have been trying to convert the old Imperial-era guns that were supposed to use .455 cartridge, into using the more common .45 rounds. It might be .005 of a difference numerically, but a lot of people got their guns explode on them!

Seeing it side-by-side, .22LR is very, very tiny round! It doesn't seem like it could even penetrate body armour, can it? Seems like a comparatively harmless round for first-time shooters, though! And on the subject of lethal-ness, I can concur that Legos are in-fact the most deadliest cartridge here. Gave me gangrene everytime I stepped on one, and I don't know why militaries even use .50 caliber rounds, when Legos are widely available? Those sharp corners are hurting me already, just by looking at it! In contrast, a .50 cartridge looks like it'll hit my face with the intensity of marshmallows.

Sort:  
Loading...