You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 27th update of 2021 on BlockTrades work on Hive software

in HiveDevs3 years ago

I read every one of these hoping that some knowledge will sink in as to how all this magic works. Seems like some great progress is being made and I thank all the developers for that.

I did have one question that maybe you or the @peakd team could answer. Why do votes show up twice in my notifications with one dating from before I was even born?

repeat.JPG

Hope you don't mind me asking this here.

Sort:  

That's the bug I'm referring to here:

This week we deployed the new version to production and we’ve observed one possibly new bug (an occasional notification missing a valid timestamp) that needs further investigation (the dev who is investigating suspects it was actually introduced earlier when changes were made to how hived processes reversible operations, but it is prudent to delay the new release until we’re sure about that).

It started happening after we deployed this experimental version to our api node, and I haven't seen the bug appearing on any other node, so I think it is a problem with the new code that our testing didn't detect. It'll probably take us a couple of days to figure out the issue and fix it. We're leaving the bad code running on our node so that we can analyze it better. In the meantime, if it's bothering you, you should be able to swap to using a different API node.

What's scary about this bug is it says on my feed votes were from 52 years ago. I then realised that's referring 1970 which is a default date. Its before my time but it's scary 1970 is nearly 52 years ago 😕

Imagine how I feel, since it's not before my time...

I was wondering if this is what you were referring to in the post. From my notifications, the bug started 20 days ago so seems to predate your changes made last week, maybe that is useful to help track it down.
I was wondering was it creating digital dust on the blockchain or worse still forking it backwards in time.

Do you have a link to an error from that time? It would be helpful if so, since I think we deployed the new code on the 19th (i.e. 10 days ago). But it was probably running on another server prior to that and we initialized our server from that one, so I would also need to get the date when that one was setup. Nevermind, I guess I can just look at your notification history, I didn't read close enough the first time!

Here is when the bug seemed to start for me. 20 days ago as far as I can tell. I am connected to hived.emre.sh node run by @emrebeyler .

bug.JPG

Ah, but that's on emre's node, not ours. On ours, it doesn't happen till later. I can only guess that maybe he updated to the experimental code earlier than we did (or possibly it is a different issue in that case). For sure our node doesn't show a similar issue until we updated.

I see. I will try another node and see if it resolves it. Thanks for the interaction.

I checked your notification history, and unless I misread it, the first occurrence was 9 days ago, which fits in the window for the code update on our server. Still, that's helpful since it seems to confirm it was probably the new code.

first one that i seen was 9 days ago too.

Thx for the confirmation.