HiveSQL Services Proposal - Let's keep it free

in HiveDevslast year (edited)

TLDR;

  • The active HiveSQL proposal will expire end of this month.
  • This new proposal aims to continue to provide HiveSQL Services for free to the community
  • You can support it here.

What is HiveSQL

HiveSQL is a publicly available Microsoft SQL database containing all the Hive blockchain data.

It allows apps and users to easily access structured data from the Hive blockchain and perform analysis or find valuable information.

Browsing the blockchain over and over to retrieve and compute values is time and resource-consuming. Instead of having a local copy of the blockchain or downloading the whole data from some external public node to process it or maintaining your own database, anyone can send their query to HiveSQL and get the result in seconds.

HiveSQL makes it possible to produce quick answers to complex questions.

A bit of history

HiveSQL has been one of my first major projects for our blockchain. I initiated it in 2016 at the very beginning of the blockchain's life.

At that time, HiveSQL was free to use. Yes, totally free... except for me.

Over time, with more and more users and applications relying on HiveSQL for their proper functioning, and with the volume of data steadily increasing, operating costs started to climb.

HiveSQL has regularly undergone several code reviews [1][2][3][4][5][6][7].

It was also necessary to carry out several infrastructure upgrades [1][2][3] to be able to maintain the performance provided at the best level.

Extensive documentation, which now serves as a reference for many developers, has been created and is regularly updated. It is available at https://docs.hivesql.io

Well-known Hive applications that rely on HiveSQL to operate include Peakd, Hive Keychain, HiveDapps.com, 3Speak, pinmapple, ... as well as websites like Staking Rewards or @primersion Hive Tools.

A few numbers for the techies

HiveSQL has been running uninterrupted for 6 years now and its database size is over 3.5TB, with some tables containing over 1.7 billion records!. In the last 2 years alone, its size has increased by almost 1.5TB. This tells you the volume of data generated daily.

Every day, HiveSQL processes around 15K requests per minute (graph), 20K table scans per minute (graph) daily servicing an average of 25 applications (graph) which generate between 2 and 2.5 millions lock request each minute (graph).

HiveSQL indexes are extremely harnessed and are the key to the performances it delivers. HiveSQL sometimes handles up to ~3 millions index scans per minute (graph).

Regarding availability, the SLA of HiveSQL is close to 100% with a downtime over the last year of only a few minutes (graph).

Why a proposal?

Sustaining such a pounding and delivering a top-notch level of performance requires professional infrastructure and service. This inevitably has a strong influence on costs.

The goal of this proposal is to keep HiveSQL free to use in order to allow the greatest number of developers and users to benefit from this tool and to develop applications and services for our ecosystem.

1. To cover costs

Let's call a spade a spade: I also need to cover costs.

For more than 6 years, HiveSQL has proven to be reliable, responsive and highly available.

Providing such high-quality services is not free. Setting up, monitoring and maintaining such an infrastructure requires a lot of attention. Maintaining and monitoring the processes that inject data from the blockchain into the database also requires its share of the work.

Although costs are managed effectively, they keep growing.

Operating HiveSQL with an affordable subscription for its users is not a viable solution. It is unsustainable and I cannot provide this service at a loss.

2. Bring back Less fortunate devs and users left behind

It pissed me off when HiveSQL moved to a subscription model because I saw a lot of developers and users who couldn't afford the subscription get left behind.

It's important to me and to Hive that everyone can take advantage of the huge potential that HiveSQL offers its users in terms of supporting applications, analytics, or any other use case they might consider.

3. Grow the hive ecosystem

HiveSQL is a powerful, fast and efficient tool.

By making HiveSQL available to a maximum of people already immersed in Hive or, even better, to people from outside our ecosystem, I am convinced that we can make it grow.

Knowledge is power and data is the basis of knowledge.

If we give users and application developers free access to the blockchain data, in a way they can easily play with, we are providing them with the perfect tool to develop their business and services and onboard more users.

Request for Funding

This proposal request is to cover current and future costs in terms of infrastructure and human resources so that HiveSQL can continue to run and enable developers and users to use it for free.

The operational budget is based on the following elements:

1. Infrastructure and services

  • SQL Server (including license)
  • Dedicated Hive private nodes (hived, HAFAH and Hivemind)
  • Firewall
  • Security management and monitoring tools
  • Performances monitoring tools
  • Backup services
  • Language identification services

2. DevOps

  • Infrastructure maintenance and updates
  • Code maintenance
  • Support to users and developers

3. WebOps

  • HiveSQL.io website maintenance and update
  • Documentation maintenance
  • Tutorials creation and maintenance

Taking into account the past experience of several years and our anticipations for the future, we are asking for 135 HBD per day for the next two years.

Let's keep HiveSQL free to use!

Support This Proposal:

Thank you for your support!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

You have my support because most of the Hive services I use without SQL are difficult or impossible to function.

Thank you for your support @seckorama

https://plnewstoday.com/ seems not to work. A pity, I thought I could get your information w/o Hive's nastyness...

You have my vote. I was wondering how much it was used and it seems my few queries are pretty insignificant. This is a really valuable resource and deserves funding.

Thank you @steevc. I know you are a HiveSQL user and how useful this tool can be for you. Thank you for your support so that you and others can continue to use it freely.

Greetings @arcange ,

Thanks for creating HiveSQL. I have voted for your proposal, but FYI please fix the error in the HiveSigner link in this post; I tried to vote using HiveSigner, but the transaction failed. I then voted via Peakd.

If I recall rightly (questionable at times 🤣) I was experimenting with HiveSQL a few years ago when you began it. I got excited about what it could do, but right about the time I was seriously considering creating a HiveSQL project, the paywall went up. I decided I could not afford the fee to play, and that was the end of it for me.😢

All of that to say, if the Hive community DHF will support this, I can easily see how it could encourage the development of many interesting and useful projects, even perhaps some from a hacker like me.

Thanks for your work on HiveSQL. I encourage others to support your proposal (#247) as well.

- @creatr

😄😇😉

@creatr

Link fixed. Thank you for notifying me, thank you for your feedback and thank you for your support @creatr

Done Vote

Thank you for your support @roky

Thank you too🙂

Done upvote

Thank you for your support @yahli

Me, too

Done

Thank you for your support @juancar347

My pleasure

Thank you for your support @juancar347, really appreciate it! 👍

No problem. Done

Voted!

Thank you for your support Brian, really appreciate it! 👍

Supported

Thank you for your support @jte1023

I have voted in support of this great proposal.

Thank you for your support @headsink

Done.

Thank you for your support @akumagai, really appreciate it! 👍

Voted!

Thank you for your support @elevator09, really appreciate it! 👍

Supported and have a good weekend.

Thank you for your support @ace108

You're welcome.

Yes, please! Super useful tool!

I think I need to read this 'extensive documentation'. I can code but my SQL stinks, (but I still use HIVE-SQL).

Enjoy your reading. Thank you for your support @slobberchops

Thank you for this proposal! You have my vite too!

Done.

Thank you for your support @niallon11

supported! Thank you for your work :)

Thank you for your support @ivanslait

I gave my support.

Thank you for your support @myjob! 👍

You are welcome

My vote is yours :-)

Thank you for your support @bucipuci

You're welcome. Glad I did :-)

Thank you for your support @bucipuci

voted!

Thank you for your support @tobetada

@arcange, I have voted my support for the proposal.

Thank you for your support @imfarhad, really appreciate it! 👍

Done

Thank you for your support @penyaircyber

Supported, thanks so much for everything 🙌

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

My pleasure, I'm grateful for everything you do 🙌

Hi @arcange you have my vote and support
Already cast my vote in support of this proposal just a while back

Thank you for your support @thetimetravelerz

I'm in! 👍

Thank you @doze

Done!

Thank you for your support @papilloncharity ❤️

Only a pleasure my friend. A pity that the post was twittered already, as I also wanted to twitter it.

!BEER

Voted

Thank you for your support @deanliu

Done vote!

Hope this one gets the vote, seems important for developing and thats important for everyone .

Thank you for your support @taradraz1

The vote is made and I seriously hope that you will get the support needed to keep it running! It helps me as a dev so much and is super reliable- I don't want to live without it anymore!!

Thank you for your unfailing support and feedback @tibfox

Voted,
Thank you for the effort as allways!
Greez
!BEER 🍺

Thank you for your support @sandymeyer

Hi @arcange, I Love it and voted for it both with my personal account and the DBuzz account. Keep making good stuff bro!

Thank you for your (double) support @jacuzzi, really appreciate it!

Count on my vote, and I will take the opportunity to read the documentation to understand it better. Good luck!

Enjoy your reading. Thank you for your support @edmanuelwild, really appreciate it! 👍
Without imposing and as we are in a renewal period for proposals, if you could take a look at the HiveBuzz Proposal Renewal - #248 as well 😁

You have my support!

Amazing work, happy to support and good luck

Thank you for your support @dynamicrypto 👍

You definitely have my vote for this @arcange and I'll make sure Pinmapple does the same

Thank you my dear. Looking forward to getting your votes on the proposal.

well done, boss.


~~~ embed:1600539988365434882 twitter metadata:MTIzODEzODg5MTE1NDEzMjk5Nnx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMjM4MTM4ODkxMTU0MTMyOTk2L3N0YXR1cy8xNjAwNTM5OTg4MzY1NDM0ODgyfA== ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @seckorama, @cryptomaso, @enjar ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Voted and Rehived by myself and Surgent studios...I would want to ask you more about the Hardware you are using...but that is a discord conversation xd

Just went to make sure that my support is done for this proposal 247. Even if do not use HiveSQL (maybe I should look into it, I am an IT guy after all), I do know how development is of the most importance for a chain, so keeping tools for free is wonderful. Great job, I wish you as much support as possible!

I love it

Ready my friend

We have been attacked by @spaminator as you are a big holder we reached out to you can you help https://ecency.com/hive-167922/@bilpcoin.pay/burn-all-rewards-sent-to?referral=bilpcoin.pay

I'm not part off the spaminator team. The best thing to do is to contact them.

Voted!!! o/🤝🤝🤝

Good work, supported.

!PIZZA😎

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@svanbo(2/5) tipped @arcange (x1)
aurikan tipped arcange (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

oh, now this page popped up @arcange, does this mean my vote has been successful?
!PIZZA

There are 2 pages
Pages