You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7th update of 2021 on BlockTrades work on Hive software

in HiveDevs3 years ago

I have been trying to follow along, and while I am not a technical person it seems as if things are moving pretty good. The primary reason I have been following so close is because I strongly believed a fix was needed to the witness retention/selection so we make it ten times harder for what happened on steem to not happen on Hive. The other part is how the vast majority of Hard Forks on steem involved the reward pool and fixing things that really were not broken.

With the exception of allowing an interest payment system to finally be added to the savings account, I have not seen anything with a major shake up for the reward pool and for that I am very glad. It shows that Hive really is trying to get as solid of a foundation as possible built. HF26 people can bring their lets play with the reward pool up then, because after 24 and 25 and the solidification of the foundation, unless something is seriously wrong then I think people will take a close look at any changes to the system.

All systems can be improved, and I am not against that, but systems need to be tested, and the current reward pool system has been tested, and if there are things which would make it run more smoothly, then I hope people look at it that way, and not go throwing the baby out with the bath water.

Sort:  

It sounds like your view is quite similar to mine. While I don't discount the social media rewards aspect of Hive, it is just one aspect, and it shouldn't dominate future development the way it dominated Steem's development. So while we can and will make minor tweaks to the rewards algorithms, our team's energy is primarily being invested into improvements to information sharing, financial products, and decentralized 2nd layer applications.