You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calculating the USD Vote Value for a Hive account

in HiveDevs2 years ago

You're very right about the documentation problem. I've also noticed it! Something I've done on my own blog and that I think I've somewhat succeeded at is to format my titles in a way that will be easy to find on Google for someone in doubt.

I would suggest, for example, that you add Hive to your title. Like this:

Calculating the USD Vote Value for a Hive account

and also maybe changing the wording? I'm not sure if it will be better. I'm not a native speaker but i would probably google it like this:

calculate hive vote value

or

calculate "hive.io" vote value

I think that due to Hive's decentralized nature, most answers are "documented" on posts. I know that any time I want to share a big chunk of information on Hive, I generally make a full post about it. That way I can find it later, others can find it associated with me, I get money, etc. Making a separate website is just not as profitable.

I think that as long as this decentralized manner of documentation gets indexed properly on search engines, it will be trivial for devs to dev. (But so far it doesn't.)

A good project would be to document Hive in a series of inter-linked posts, and finding posts that already have documentation and linking to them in a systematic manner, like an index. Maybe that would help us solve the issue.

Sort:  

I would suggest, for example, that you add Hive to your title. Like this:

Thanks for the idea! I did update the title. I am not so good at SEO and related topics, unfortunately. But I think it makes sense to care for it, as I found your original post using Google search (I think I entered something like calculcate usd value for a vote on hive blockchain.

That could be good. I think we also need ways to incentivise tech-people to create libraries, projects, as well as document them properly. Remember @utopian-io? I think that was a revolutionary project that could help to solve these kinds of issues. Too bad it failed in the end.