emrebeyler cross-posted this post in HiveDevs 4 years ago


Announcing an alternative Hivemind-communities node

in Original MEMEs4 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2020-02-28 at 00.42.15.png

https://hivemind-communities.emrebeyler.me


Hivemind has a new version powering the Communities for a while. Since it was never landed into the master branch, I was hesitant to update my normal/old Hivemind node.

However, after seeing communities deployed to Condenser and Steempeak already, I've spun up a new server for the communities included version to increase the decentralization. (Steemit API is the only Hive instance supports communities, atm.)

Node

https://hivemind-communities.emrebeyler.me is accessible with the communities APIs. It's only a Hive node, that means you need a router in your beloved steem library, or create your requests yourself. It's pretty easy actually. Here is an example cURL call to get community details.

curl -s --data '{"jsonrpc":"2.0", "method":"bridge.get_community", "params":{"name":"hive-139531","observer":"emrebeyler"}, "id":1}' https://hivemind-communities.emrebeyler.me

All "bridge" api methods are documented at https://developers.steem.io/apidefinitions/#apidefinitions-bridge.

Daily dumps

Daily snapshots of the database will be provided at https://hivemind-communities.emrebeyler.me/dumps/. Make sure to check the "state.txt" before downloading the dump. Compatible with PostgreSQL 10.6.

SQL Users

If you have direct user access to my old Hive instance, your credentials will be migrated to the new server. I'll announce it once I find time to do that. :)

Old instance (hivemind.emrebeyler.me)

The old instance will still continue for a while but it will be disbanded at some point. "hivemind-communities.emrebeyler.me" instance will promote to "hivemind.emrebeyler.me" in the future. I'll also announce that beforehand, of course.

Vote for my witness

If you didn't vote for my witness already, consider casting a vote on Steemconnect or on Steemit.

// Edit

Looks like I've posted this into the "Original MEMEs" community. It's not possible to fix it, so adding this good, old meme.

hivemind.jpg

Sort:  

Cool stuff!

Would you be interested in running a public Hivemind X node as well?

I didn't have a look to Hivemind X, if there is any frontend implements it, I can run another node.

Good to know you're willing to run a node :)

Hivemind X is based on the 214-core branch that communities are on, but I am developing additional features for it. The README on GitHub has more info.

Currently, there are no frontends that are using it, because there's no public node yet, but I can make a post asking if any frontends will be interested in trying out the new features.