You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Authentication Services - Announcement and Proposal

in HiveDevs2 years ago

Sounds good. I am basically only worried about security holes in the code.
I assume that you have been talking a lot with the Keychain guys already, but please make sure that the code will be reviewed by a lot of devs.

I am excited to hear your "technical details" update soon an hopefully weekly progress updates too...

Wishing you the best.

Sort:  

Yep, we re in touch, and basically one of the goals is to have requests E2E encrypted to make it trustless to use HAS in the middle.

But how safe is E2E encryption really? I mean whattsapp E2E was cracked by the CIA, or is that just an intended backdoor created by facebook?

Technically they didn't crack E2EE, they hacked into the phones and got the information before encryption. So in the end I guess it depends on how much you trust your device to be secure.

Thank you for your vote to the proposal @ew-and-patterns!

I am basically only worried about security holes in the code.

This is also my main concern. Hence why the project is deployed in a calm and careful manner.

I assume that you have been talking a lot with the Keychain guys

Yes, we work together very closely and their feedback has been very helpful throughout the initial development phase.