You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to fix canonical URLs and links in your pre-fork posts

in HiveDevs4 years ago

This changes the canonical link on the Hive blockchain. Shouldn't we do same for the Steem blockchain? Otherwise we may have two canonical links set, one on Hive, one on Steem and search engines will either ignore both, or will consider the domain with the highest authority as the source, and penalize the others, or will penalize all domains.

Sort:  

I updated the script, it can now be used on Steem to set canonical urls.

Hi @holger80! I tried the script for Steem. It works in the test run (with a minor update, to catch unexpected json metadata fields - for example the app parley did set a dict for "app" with more details, rather than the standard string).

But the actual post edits, none are successful (I checked on steemd). When printing the error(s), it says it's (<class 'AttributeError'>, AttributeError("'PointJacobi' object has no attribute '_Point__x'"), <traceback object at 0x7fc4b9dc7aa0>).

I'm not experienced with Python, but after a search this is what I used to get info about the error within the except block of the post edits broadcasts: e = sys.exc_info().

Any idea what could generate this error?

There is a package missing. Which operating system do you use?

Here I'm using Ubuntu 18.04.

EDIT: I also have beem 0.23.9, the latest pip upgraded to.

This is strange, can you double check that you are using the newest version?

beempy about

I will test in the meanwhile beem on a newly installed machine.

Yeah, I was right:

beempy version: 0.23.9

By @holger80

EDITS:
I also have Anaconda 4.8.3, if it matters:

conda --version
conda 4.8.3

Python version is 3.7.7:

python --version
Python 3.7.7

Can you try

pip3 install -U cryptography

and report if this fixes it?
When not, please install also

pip3 install -U secp256k1prp

That's true, I will prepare a script that will set the canonical on all steem posts.

Just asked the same question, before I saw yours. I agree we want to update canonical links in as many places as possible.