Hivediff - an app to view the history of any hive post

in HiveDevs4 years ago (edited)

Hivediff is a small python GUI that can be used to view the editing history of a post.

It uses the account history for searching all comment operations with the specified permlink. Based on the received patches, a change history is build and can be viewed.

In this example, it can be seen that there two changes were made to the original post.

Hivediff can now be used to see what was changed at the specific operation. On the left side, you see the state before the edit and on the right side, you see the state after the edit.

You can select the different edits by their time-stamp at the left side by clicking on an item in the tree view.

Hivediff was inspired by pydiff, which is the reason why it uses Tk.

Installation

You need to clone the github repository:

git clone https://github.com/holgern/hivediff.git

and you need to install Tk and beem for python 3.

  • For Ubuntu, you can install Tk by sudo apt-get install python-tk.
  • For MacOS, Tk should be included.
  • For windows, the easiest way is to use anaconda as it's includes Tk.

beem can be installed by

pip install beem

or

conda install beem

Usage

Hivediff can be started by (you may need to replace python by python3)

python .\hivediff.py

It is possible to set an authorperm link with --authorperm:

python .\hivediff.py --authorperm @holger80/update-for-beem-support-for-ledger-nano-sx-has-been-added

It is also possible to set an authorperm via a dialog at File/View Post history.

View diff between a markdown file and the corresponding Hive version

Hivediff can also be used to check the difference between an edited markdown file with YAML header to the currently broadcasted post body.

Let's assume, I want to edit my last post. At first, I can download the post as markdown file with:

beempy download -a holger80 -s update-for-beem-support-for-ledger-nano-sx-has-been-added

Then I'm editing the file and save it.
I can now check my changes with

python hivediff.py --file 2020-05-12T19-23-15_update-for-beem-support-for-ledger-nano-sx-has-been-added.md

It is also possible to load the file in the app. Just click on the File menu and click compare Markdown file.

This command let Hivediff load the markdown file and extract the permlink from the YAML header.

On the left side, the post body is shown and on the right side my locally stored markdown file. I can see that I added an s to key.

I can now broadcast the changes with

beempy post 2020-05-12T19-23-15_update-for-beem-support-for-ledger-nano-sx-has-been-added.md

Reload

You can reload with strg+r, or by click on Reload in the menu.
It is also possible to search a string in your document (strg+f).

Feedback

Do you think that Hivediff is a useful application? Should I invest more work in it? Maybe create an installer and a standalone version?

Maybe add the possibility to edit the content, revert changes, and finally broadcast the modified content?


If you like what I do, consider casting a vote for me as witness on Hivesigner or on PeakD

Sort:  

Justin Sun würde diese App nicht gefallen 😂

And thats a great little application to have, awesome work.

I've been looking for a tool like this from the first time I saw an edited post! Thanks for creating it!

that is good job man!

Hi @holger80, you have received a small bonus upvote from MAXUV.
This is to inform you that you now have new MPATH tokens in your Hive-Engine wallet.
Please read this post for more information.
Thanks for being a member of both MAXUV and MPATH!

I'm not sure if that is needed? Looks like not so important for me or am I just innocent for this apps developing?

Great work

Very useful. Congratulations for making this amazing tool. Keep up the good work.

Another great one here. This is definitely useful for Hivers since it provides more value. As always, we appreciate your work. And, this post will be featured in our Gitplaite-elites today.

You are an elite.

There is another option available as well from @drakos. I don't think it is very well known though.

Hive Scribe

I use this from time to time when researching abuse.

Very cool!
Looking at this app, brings up one question in my mind:
Do you think HIVE blockchain would be able to support GIT repositories?

Wanna build GitHIVE?

How could this work? When I push a new post version to my git, a script automatically broadcasts a comment operation to Hive with the changes? What would be the benefits? Maybe changing a footer on all my posts?

My first thought on this was that on-chain comments could represent a file of repository. As there is a size limit of 64kb maybe it's a bad idea ^^