I am now running a witness node

in HiveDevs3 years ago

My witness node is officially live!

  • Witness Name: imwatsi
  • Server specs:
    • 16G RAM
    • 500G SSD
    • 4 cores
    • 100mbps

I plan on upgrading the server soon.

My work on Hive

I joined Steem Hive in October 2016. I spent many months going down the rabbit hole of crypto in general and blockchain design, learning from great minds in our community. Here's a timeline of my work on Hive since then:

  • Nov 2017 to June 2018: contributed to Utopian.io (copywriting)
  • Sept 2018 to Jan 2020: worked on Alpha versions of Native Ads (initially a Hivemind upgrade, but is now a separate protocol, that enables communities to monetize ad space and time using HIVE and HAT tokens)
  • Dec 2020: started working on Hive Attention Tokens (a sidechain and protocol for attention tokens and monetization, controlled by accounts on the Hive blockchain)
  • Jan 2021: started working on Hive Plug & Play (a customizable block streaming and parsing microservice for custom_json ops on Hive)
  • Feb 2021: began working on a social dApp that utilizes HAT tokens and Native Ads for monetization
  • May 2021: released Hive Plug & Play public beta

Links


Support my work on Hive by voting for my witness

Sort:  

Nice, good luck. The server specs are fine for a backup witness, if you want to upgrade, 32GB RAM is the comfort zone for a fast replay, cause 16GB is really borderline as you begin to swapping, which slows it down. But again, we don't replay every day, so it's fine.

Great, good luck!

Is your witness live? I've been poking around trying to update my witness votes and I came across your price feed being live but not your witness. Let me know and I'd be happy to give you a vote!

Yes it is live. Just haven't signed my first block yet :)

enabled.png

Thanks, I think you should look into it a bit more. You don’t seem to be running the version. If you look at the other witnesses, it shows they are running 1.25.0 I think but when I see yours it just says 0.0.0 or something. I don’t know what causes that since I haven’t started my own witness but just wanted to point that out!

Thanks. I also wondered, then I read that the version will show after I produce my first block.

After that gets broadcast, you are up and running as a witness. You can check that you are enabled somewhere like https://peakd.com/me/witnesses. The green ball means that you are enabled. Your version will not report to the version that you are using until you sign your first block so don't worry if it says 0.0.0. Just get the word out there that you are being a witness and get more votes.

https://peakd.com/hive-139531/@rishi556/how-to-set-up-a-hive-witness-using-hiab-at-version-1-24-4