You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A New DAO is coming to Hive!

in HiveDevslast year

Thanks, our UI designer is doing a good job :)

The private key method is not the recommended one and we show the screen with the auth options first. The authentication process is one step, if you choose either Keychain or HiveAuth.

The private key option is optional, if for some reason you are not using the auth methods.

I'll talk with the designer to see what changes we can implement to encourage the auth options more and make the private key option less prominent, like making the button smaller or something.

I'll also take a look at Engage's implementation.

Thanks, I appreciate the feedback.

Sort:  

The private key method is not the recommended one [...] is optional [...]

It simply should be removed! I see no reason to keep it when safer alternatives exist.
Any app asking for a private key is a NO-GO for me!

I have never integrated this option in any of my applications and nobody complains about it.
As a witness, security should be one of your main concerns. Educating users about it too.

The option will be removed.

Glad to hear it. Thank you for considering my feedback.