You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 25th update of 2021 on BlockTrades work on Hive software

in HiveDevs3 years ago

I think we should also consider adding more leeway between when the print rate decreases and when the haircut ratio hits. Ending HBD printing further away from the haircut ratio should encourage confidence in the peg of HBD.

I fully support this view. There is no point in discussing an optimal number for the party/horror modes to switch. We need the environment to change gradually (that should include widening the current 9-10 zone where author rewards HBD printing moves between 100 and 0%).

I think we could easily go to even a 50% ratio without significant risk to long term Hive pricing

I do not think the pricing was the primary issue for the people who disagreed with the rise. I read it as "we do not want an attack vector available to someone who hoards HBD" which sounds ridiculous to me as keeping a healthy share of HBD should be a responsibility of current stakeholders.

I can see the increased Hive inflation issue if the price swings heavily but I consider that another Proof of Brain mechanism of inflation distribution. Sure, it is a different Proof of Brain than the original design of Author rewards for content creating - and that is cool for diversity. Especially given that it is more robust to Player-vs-Player aspects.