How to Monetize Content After Payout? - A PEAKD Partnership Program?

in HiveDevs3 years ago

Source

Guys, I'd like to know your thoughts on something.

Let me start off with a hypothetical.

One day you create a really high quality piece of content. It get's noticed by the Hive community and it does fairly well. Let's say... it earns $15 by time of payout - super, any of us would be happy with that.

Now, let's say one week later the content blows up across the internet. It becomes a meme, it gets tossed about on Tik Tok, on Facebook, on YouTube, etc.

Then people flood on over to Hive to check the OC and leave their likes and comments and maybe to check out some of the creator's other pieces of content.

  • How does the creator profit from that?

Are tips really the only option? How often do you tip YouTube content you happen to stumble across and like? Yeah, not often. Tipping is no substitute.

Now I understand that with the way Hive was constructed there is no way to realistically have awards go to content that is older that 7 days. That is a very unfortunate limitation that I fear may hold Hive back from onboarding some heavy-hitting content creators.

What I suggest is that the various Hive interfaces (Ecency, Hive.blog, PEAKD) either work together or independently to establish partnership programs. To enable content creators who reach a certain threshold of activity, quality and audience size to monetize their content through an advertiser program or some other means.

That way legacy content (older than 7 days) has the potential to remain profitable for the user even after Hive rewards are distributed.

I think this is a good idea because users who produce lesser quality content can enjoy Hive rewards, while amazing creators can enjoy Hive rewards + advertiser revenue for as long as it is viral.

Just an idea.

What do you guys think?

Should PEAKD look into a partnership program for high value creators? I think so.

Thanks, take care.

Simon.

Sort:  

I think so too

Yeah, the seven-day window seems like a turnoff for "heavy-hitting content creators," especially those on YouTube, Tiktok, etc. I can't imagine them every seeing the value in limiting their payout/revenue. And, what's the option for for short stories that I write? I like to think that they have value beyond seven days, at least the ones I put some time into. I've thought about recycling them, and I guess that would be okay.

You know I was thinking the same thing about writing that I've been doing lately. I'm writing a novella and giving it a decent go... and I'm thinking... if I publish it on Hive, then I've got 7 days and that's it. How could I benefit after that? It's somewhat disheartening that I'll only publish low effort content here because of that limitation.

I suppose we could sell NFT copies of the work, but that's still different to Hive.

Maybe it's better publish via traditional means or the many self publishing routes that have popped up in recent years.

And, many publishers want first-time rights, so anything published on blockchain first is ineligible. ... I've never thought of a story as an NFT, but why not? Have you seen anyone doing that?

No I've not seen anyone give that a go. I figure it makes sense. Text files aren't large even for full manuscripts. I suppose you could create them in multiple file formats too. It's something I've been pondering for a while but i don't know enough about the limitations of NFTs to be sure.

Yeah the first time rights issue I've seen be a problem for other people. I always figured I'd go the self publish route and try to market my work myself.

It's a real shame that hive won't be the place I publish though, I still love this place.

Though if peakd placed adds on my work and paid me advertiser revenue... That might change.