Sort:  

Honestly it's expensive if you think of the price itself, but considering one of those could handle all of hive's traffic, it's pretty inexpensive :)

To give you some context steemit used to spend multiple thousand per month for their infrastructure, the setup above is probably 150$ or 200$ a month.

From what I recall (and I'm usually pretty good at recalling such things), within the first few years, Steemit was spending $75K per month on supporting their nodes (i.e. around $900K/year).

This is crazy. Surely the cost has to increase as we get back to old activity levels? Otherwise I'll setup my own node after the crypto bull run

At this point, I think we could increase traffic to 12x our current traffic (which would far exceed anything Steemit ever did), and the cost for the servers wouldn't go up (unless some network traffic costs kicked in, but I don't think this is the case).

thanks for that info. We need marketing. This makes Hive looks superior to all other chains I know.

Am I wrong or is this fantastic? That would allow handling smts in an easy and cheap way, right? :)

I mean yes but it was mostly because previously running a full node required 512 gb of ram and that increases the price exponentially. (plus steemit ran multiple nodes for redundancy)

Ok, but this is much cheaper for multiple nodes too, or I'm wrong?

you're not wrong :)