HIVE Developer Evangelist Proposal | Full-time Hive Position Update

in HiveDevs4 years ago (edited)

1.png


This past month has been an incredible start for Hive. It's truly inspiring to be apart of such like minded individuals who believe in true decentralization, 100% censorship resistance, and continued development of a true technical marvel set out from the founding principles.
As a prior full-time employee/developer for Steemit inc I couldn't be happier to shift my attention to our new home as Hivers, let's bring our ideals we share to full futurition here.

If you'd like to know a bit more about me, and my history on as a early Steemit Developer please see my Post here:

https://hive.blog/hiveimpact/@originate/what-does-hive-mean-to-me

Nothing becomes world class without great work and I'd like to put those hard hours on a full-time role for Hive.

Let's get to work!


HIVE DEVELOPER EVANGELIST POSITION ACCOUNCEMENT | PROPOSAL INTRO

After great consideration this past month, I would like to work as a full-time position in Hive as Developer Evangelist role. I believe we all hold a certain set of talents and skills which utilized fully, we can together see incredible growth with Hive in the coming years.

With this said: my position announcement and funding proposal is exactly that for me, my cumulative offering of my primary developer skills, knowledge and networking abilities that if I can utilize in a full-time role -- I believe can offer substantial benefits to our community growth and world impact.

ROLE DESCRIPTION

As Hive Developer Evangelist I would like to break down my role, hive overview of tasks, work flow, and position goals.

HIVE DEFI GROWTH/MAJOR 3RD PARTY INTEGRATIONS

Our continued expansion from an exchange standpoint will always be important and beneficial, but I believe we have many other ways to impact the Blockchain community and one of those ways is to become collateral option's for the many existing DeFi products. Having Hive as a collateral option will bring a new wave of growth that will have incredible lasting effects.

Just the press alone for being a Collateral for https://nexo.io would be huge! Naturally we would secure all the amazing benefits and Hivers could utilize their HIVE in new ways to obtain USD loans backed from Hive.
Since I'm a Developer first, I'll be able to directly assist with Wallet Integrations for any 3rd party we start to work with.

Unfortunately getting there will require different levels of work, both from outreach to actual integration. I have various colleagues and friends that work the some of the various 3-4 DeFi lending operations -- I will utilize all my abilities to work with them to get Hive as a new collateral option.

Hive DeFi partnerships are by far not the only incredible integration/partnership for us, as Developer Evangelist my role will be to focus on a great deal of emerging avenues, to share them with the community, and to spearhead their actual realization!

DEVELOPER PORTAL

As Developer Evangelist naturally one of the top priorities will be the Developer Portal. Since Hive launched we've made great progress on this and once again great thanks to @inertia for this fantastic work!

Since our continued work on Dev Portal I've made various code updates(Please see https://gitlab.syncad.com/hive/devportal).

As Hive Developer Evangelist--I will allocate a great deal of time two fold here:

  • Continued improvements & updates to Developer Portal
  • Getting our world class documentation actually in front of new emerging developers and existing products that are completely unaware of our great network and how Hive can benefit them.

If you'd like to know more about my involvement as the creator of Developer Portal for steemit, please read my Developer Portal proposal here:

https://hive.blog/proposal/@originate/the-hive-api-developer-portal-proposal-we-need-world-class-documentation

(Please note - This Proposal was removed and joined together in my Developer Evangelist proposal here, as the Developer Portal will become one of my items as this new role).

DEVELOPER OUTREACH

Developer outreach will be a two fold operation both a combination of online and offline marketing for spearheading developer advocation.

While our world is currently in unprecedented health crisis, we are hopeful to see stabilization in our future. Hive needs to reach much more then an online presence. As Developer evangelist I will be attending monthly conferences, hackathon, and other networking events in both the Blockchain and Centralized eco-systems.

Prior to moving to Virginia full time as a Developer for Steemit Inc, I had participated and won various Hackathons in San Francisco(Angelhack, Startup Weekend). Having attended and participated in so many of these events I know the utter importance of Hive representation at these events, promoting our Blockchain tools and features for teams to utilize.

Hive having a strong presense at hackathons(even virtual ones) would have great lasting effects. Blockchains in general are lacking the opportunity there, yet again no other blockchain like Hive can truly disrupt and benefit so many centralized systems. We need to strike on this opportunity!

I am a 3x Startup founder. Before relocating from Los Angeles to Virginia to work at Steemit Inc full time, I have gained many friends and colleagues in the tech/startup industry. I believe with my networking and circle there can be some incredible new doors for Hive to be opened that I was never able with in my Primarily Developer Role writing code on Steemit.

While the world remains more online my outreach strategy will focus on online communities for these various programs. Much of these same activities are happening virtually, let me help spread the message to developers about our great incentivized decentralized network that can have great impacts for their products, tools and dApps.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I truly am incredibly excited to be in a position to bring my combination of Developer background, networking availability, and Hive outreach passion to do my absolute full work flow on a full time basis for Hive.

My requested daily payout is very reasonable. The approval of this proposal would become my primary job, this is not side-gig :)

Please support my proposal by voting with HiveSigner

https://hivesigner.com/sign/update_proposal_votes?proposal_ids=%5B%2296%22%5D&approve=true

I greatly appreciate your consideration to support my Developer Evangelist role, I look forward to any feedback you have!


@originate

Hive Developer Evangelist


Sort:  

This is awesome! I will vote for you.

Thank you for the dev portal, I wasn’t aware of it!

Thanks @marcocasario, please let me know if you have any suggestions for Dev Portal in the future.

I love hivecommunity

Just voted the proposal, didn't know about it! Did you try reaching large stakeholders and asking them to vote? I think that many would go for it.

I would love to see Hive represented at Hackatons, any chance you would ask for funding for maybe 1-3 concrete Hackatons you think Hive should be at, and try to get that funded? General feedback I've seen/sensed below proposals is people would like to see a timeline, concrete goals/results going to be achieved for the money, and more 'general' proposals being less attractive to vote on. Just my 2 cents. Cheers!

I love @Hive you're right this platform is incredible and the people are super wonderful @originate.