You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Details about the setup of my public node

in HiveDevs4 years ago

Is this a reference to @bloom?

No

I note you are incorporating @themarkymark's blacklist

The irredeemables were taken from steemit without changes for now. As it was managed by them (with the help of marky), that wasn't something I could influence so I never really cared.
I do now! This list definitely has to be discussed and a process established to not let a single person just add someone who annoys them. Thanks for pointing it out, I will check more opinions.

Sort:  

Please keep me in the loop as you manage the censorship issue.

I have advocated for requiring a vote on HPS proposals to include an account on #irredeemables, due to it's severe and total censorship of affected accounts. I feel strongly that the same mechanism considered sufficient to elect witnesses should be the mechanism to essentially forever silence people.

Advocates of censoring the account can present evidence in support of the inclusion, the accused can present their own, and voters decide. I also recommend periodic appeals be allowed of the censored account via the same HPS method. If they receive enough votes, they should be allowed to get off the list.

We need a robust mechanism to undertake such a terminal threat to users of Hive as API total and complete censorship of all ability to communicate with other folks here, and I can't think of one better atm.

Thanks!

In my view, blocking content from the interfaces should happen there. If an interface operator runs their own API node it makes sense for them to block it there directly. I do not operate an interface though, so I will probably set my node up with no or just a minimal irredeemables list. My hivemind is not fully synced yet and routed to anyx, so I have a few days to hear other opinions and make a decision then.