You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some extra changes are being bundled into hf24 regarding the proposal system, we want your opinion on it

in HiveDevs4 years ago

Hey Howo, what is the goal of applying these changes? Is it just to decrease proposals that are lingering out there not being active? If there are more than a few goals, please let me know about all of them :). Perhaps I can run an analysis on it, and try to see if I can come up with a solution that covers a portion of it.

Adding a fee to create a proposal wouldn't be a bad thing, however, an ongoing fee for X time is something that I consider to be limiting those who wish to contribute to the blockchain and find 1 HBD too much of a risk. As far as I'm concerned, proposals should only be funded if it brings value to the HIVE blockchain.

Therefore, if someone is bringing value to the blockchain, I wouldn't ask them to pay for sharing and execute their ideas ongoingly while risking that their proposal isn't going through.

Some thoughts

  • If people don't know how to write a proposal, perhaps with the right questions and fields, this could be resulting in having more proper and well-thought-out proposals. At least, I would find it odd if one submits a proposal that isn't planned out prior to submitting. Even with 1 HBD or x% fee, there would still be a chance to get the same in-active proposals we're dealing with today.

  • If proposals are not being funded by X time, execute a kill on specific proposals, whereas applicants could both address the time-frame when their proposal should be funded or killed. An example; "I'm willing to propose this, and unless this proposal doesn't get funded in 60 days, I either: kill the proposal or re-apply the proposal manually in the nearby future."

  • If a permalink is something that you can edit as an applicant, wouldn't that risk change of the rules in a proposal? Of course it is possible to look it up in blocks what was written prior to any change made. But if I voted for a proposal that didn't get through yet, maybe I wouldn't want to vote on it with a changed set of rules.

Cheers,
Ruben