You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 24 update: testnets and hivemind progress

in HiveDevs4 years ago

Hey man one thing I've wondered about Blockchain is.. the ACTUAL CONTENT. Is HIVE content stored on AWS servers?

I remember steemit content was and that made me think.. doesn't that nullify any claim of DECENTRALISED and IMMUTABILITY?

Or at the least exist as "not truly outside of the mainstream" reach and all still under the control of technocrats?

Sort:  

Hi, As far as I understand the text content is stored on the blockchain itself and that is stored on many decentralised servers some witnesses use AWS as far as I know but some have their own making it quite decentralised. Image etc. may be stored on centralised servers but I am not sure if they are mirrored. Maybe someone else can weigh in on this.

The image data is mirrored across both cloud severs and individually owned servers.

Well that's the thing, witnesses are about making sure the blocks of records are correct. Their data is essentially what we can view on an explorer. Very raw data. That's my understanding.

Images and Video though can't be stored on Blockchain. This is what has always existed as one big reason why Blockchain can't scale well. Transactions of meta data is one thing. Bandwidth like streaming video is another thing. I'm not really sure how it all works but I remember when I did some research on steemit it was utilising AWS as the content storage servers.

So this really means that Blockchain isn't truly decentralised and it's why it can't just take over regular internet like many claim or hope.

Classically, I think the text data was considered the most important to keep decentralized. For politically controversial posts, the images are mostly window-dressing to the text content. And of course, all the financial data is decentralized.

Nonetheless, the image server data is distributed across multiple servers now, and the plan is to truly decentralize this data as well. You can search thru my previous posts to find more details about this plan.

In a similar way, I expect the same thing to happen to the video data with time, but the video servers are maintained by other groups right now (e.g. 3speak) so they will likely move on their own timelines.

Thanks for the explanation.
It completes my understanding.

Videos can be hosted on @threespeak (decentralized).

Isn't threespeak just another front-end?
Where does the video content store.. who has control of the servers where the content lives?

They are using SIA (https://sia.tech/)

Cheers!