Would you like to see a Question & Answer platform built on Hive?

in HiveDevs4 years ago

Last week, I wrote my introduction to Hive the community where I mentioned in I was looking forward to getting started with building an application on Hive. Over the past week or so I've toyed with a few ideas and I thought I would reach out to the community for feedback on an idea that isn't new (at least in it's most basic form), but is something that I believe fits into Hive nicely.

In the past, we've seen a few questions and answer sites pop up on Steem and over time they began to fade out either due to their inability to retain users or inability to continue development. As a regular reader of Quora and previous question and answer sites on Steem, I believe that the ability to ask questions and reward valuable answers is something that just makes sense on Hive.

The idea would be to create a simple question and answer platform that would allow users to ask questions in a selection of topics, users would have the ability to answer questions and overall be rewarded by the post creator and other readers if they found them valuable. Over time, this would progress into other areas, however, for an MVP, we can keep it simple. You can get an idea of what it could look like in the image below:

image.png

Note: The UI will likely change, but something I threw together to help get some additional feedback about the platform.

Now I haven't gone into too much depth about features, what I believe will make people want to use the app or what I believe will make it different to other question and answer platforms, instead, I'm simply looking for your thoughts on an application like this on Hive and if you would like to use an application like this? There are millions of questions I could ask so I'll simply leave you with these:

  • Would you like to see a question and answer platform on Hive?
  • What features would you like to see on a platform such as this?
  • What would stop you from using a platform such as this?
  • Do you use Quora? if so, what do you like and dislike about the platform?

Thanks, looking forward to hearing your thoughts.


Please tag anyone you think will have some valuable feedback about this, the more the merrier.

Sort:  

Musing was great on steem for a while, but I don't know what happened with that. A good one for Hive would be great.

I agree, think it makes sense on Hive. I've started working on it anyway, plenty of spare time with everythings that's going wrong with the world so might as well put it to good use.

I used to be an avid Quora user, my answers still receive hundreds of thousands of views a month. However, I recall Musing on Steem with their Q&A type app, which had a downside of people farming questions to try and pillage the rewards pool. The upside of sites like Quora or even StackOverflow is they can moderate the quality, a decentralised site cannot. So, you could have a situation where people are posting low-quality questions trying to get pennies. Solve the quality problem and you've got a good idea on your hands.

The lack of quality of "some" questions is not necessarily an issue. Quora has received lots of traffic with totally dumb questions like "best pizza in [city] x".

Let there be a large bottom base, let people SEO their answers (very difficult nowadays on quora but was easy in early stage). Just don't highlight or curate them. You can be both quora AND yahoo answers.

A bigger problem is when people rewrite the same question hoping to get more eyeballs because a question already has solid answers. Stack does very well in that department but those platforms are several years old and have worked at solutions. Good things take time and penny hunting isn't that different from the crap SEO "gurus" every platform attracts.

The key after some time becomes your curation and your suggested related questions. Traffic flow shaping is more important than not liking the style/content of some questions. Questions and answers which also contribute to your metrics btw.

Bonus: you will probably earn beneficiary from all those pennies too.

@therealwolf suggested an inflationary based donation system, and this is one way I see it actually working. All posts set to send 95% rewards to @null(burn it), and 5% to help fund the development of it. Asking questions can have a slight fee to it. Answering is free, and the answer that's accepted gets most of the fee.

@tipu curate 2 :)