You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New wiki project and future downvote handling

in HiveDevs4 months ago

Great idea, congratulations! Before the hardfork I was a @someguy123's wiki contributor and proposed a way to automatize rewards distributions: https://hive.blog/utopian-io/@wagnertamanaha/an-idea-of-a-mediawiki-extension-to-connect-with-steem-blockchain-and-its-content-reward-system About onchain wikis I remember the Lbry project and Everipedia, launched on EOS blockchain now changed its name to IQ Wiki. Keep safe, thanks and good luck again!

Sort:  

I haven't thought a lot about monetization yet, my interest comes from the technological side. Upvotes don't seem like an option without spamming the chain with new posts for each edit. Maybe a tipping system can be implemented.

I remember SteemWIKI sent a tip for those who submitted/edited entries. It wasn't much, and it still required a centralized entity to approve and curate entries and rewards.

Great! My original proposal included options of daily to weekly posts with aggregated edits just to avoid spamming, other way could be by the sum of minimum edits or bytes. I wrongly mentioned Lbry as a wiki project, the correct name was Lunyr.

I also think nowadays the wiki system was revived by the success of Notion. Recently I found this Monetize.link feature that allows users to set up a token or nft gate on Notion pages: https://www.monetized.link/campaign/add-payments-to-your-notion I believe that wiki with web3 really has huge potential.