Apple Pie Moonshine by Edge Brewing Company

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary. My parents were very generous and watched the kids while we went to Edge Brewing Company for dinner.

We discovered them early this year, when we received a gift card for Christmas. I was initially hesitant to go because I assumed they would be downtown and driving around there on a Friday night, much less finding parking, is a nightmare. I didn't realize they were only about a 15-minute drive from us and not downtown, so we went to check it out. We were impressed by the food and drinks, so we make it a point to keep going back.

I usually like to pick up their Huckleberry Whiskey Lemonade. I looked over at their cooler on the far side of the room and asked the waitress if that was the small group of bottles I saw in the far, back bottom corner. She said they were out and that was their apple pie moonshine. I was intrigued, so I ordered a bottle of it.

It doesn't have an incredibly high alcohol content, which is fine by me. I have a very high alcohol tolerance and it takes a lot to get me drunk, so I prefer to enjoy things for the taste. I like that they didn't cut corners and used real cane sugar instead of the cheaper fake sweeteners they put in things these days. Since it's lower alcohol content, it also doesn't have a lot of that "burn" you experience from more potent liquor.

I prefer my drinks over ice, but I could see how drinking this warmed up in winter time would be delicious. It's very dark, which isn't unexpected. I wasn't expecting how sweet it would be.

The spices they put in it are delicious. It reminds me of a good quality apple pie or apple cider. The sweetness was right on the edge for me. It was almost too sweet. I'd personally recommend cutting it slightly with some chilled sparkling water. I haven't tried it myself, but I have yet to find an alcoholic drink that doesn't benefit from a little bit of carbonation added to it.

I think it paid around $15 for the bottle, which isn't bad at all. It has great taste despite being almost too sweet, but that's easy enough to remedy. Whether heated or chilled, if you like apple pie or apple cider, I'd recommend giving this drink a try if you come across it!


Do you like stacking gold and silver?

Are you new to Hive, or know someone new to Hive, and want help and support?

Have you been on Hive for a while and want to help new Hive members? Join HOC and help us grow Hive and encourage new members!

Sort:  

!hiqvote

@bulliontools, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) but the mana is too low. Try again later.

As a consolation, @bulliontools gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Hmmm that looks like a good drink! Too bad it's not available around here.

Thanks! Aw, I'm sorry.

For a similar taste you could add a shot of Fireball cinnamon whiskey to a glass of Martinelli's sparkling cider.

!BBH

It's alright. I guess I'd have to visit a local bar if they have those. Haha. Anyway thanks for giving an idea how it tastes like.

I do enjoy the odd craft brew.
untitled.gif
!BEER

The local small batch brews are the best! 😁

!BBH

That looks pretty good. I got a visit the Bacardi factor back in 2005 that was fun experience. So I can imagine that the same goes for that brewery. The idea of a moon shine being tasty and not deadly sounds good too. !BEER

Touring the Bacardi factory sounds like fun!

Moonshine is definitely tasty when done right. 😁

!BBH

Not fair bro. I reblogged your post, now every time I open my blog I see your moonshine, and I'm like damn. I want some. Lol

!LOL Sorry. Maybe you can order a bottle and have it shipped to you?

!BBH

Nice! I've always wanted to try out real "good" moonshine but never had the chance. So that's a winner in your book?
!BBH

Yes, I'd recommend it. I'd just cut it slightly with some sparkling water since it's very sweet.

You received an upvote of 90% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

Congratulations @bulliontools! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 4000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP