My Prosumer Camera Could Not Take Macro Shots

in FreeCompliments14 days ago

After weeks learning how to use my old Prosumer Camera properly, I come up to a conclusion that my Canon Coolpix L830 can't take any Macro Shots. It can take some good shots on small objects, but not as Macro shots.

DSCN2826.JPG

I tried to take that ant pic bigger, but it seemed this was the largest scale up I could take with this coolpix L830. Any larger zoom in would break the details. Maybe I am still lacking of the skills, don't know for sure...

DSCN2827.JPG

Although it can not take macro shots, I still think this camera is still good. Overall it can compete with my old phone, Samsung Galaxy S9+ which was broken due to some feud with someone. Overall it is still better in taking photo than my current cheap phone, an Infinix NFC smartphone.

How Small Was That Flower

I saw those flowers on the alley near my house. Someone put some pots outside their house, on a T-Junction. It's something that bothering people, because those pots making some cars having difficulty in making the turn.

DSCN2822.JPG

People here call this plants as Mahkota Duri, or in English it is Crown of Thorns. Some even call this as Christ plant. The latin name is Euphorbia milii. There are many variants of this flowers, which mostly about how the flowers looks... differentiated by colors.

DSCN2824.JPG

I am not familiar with this plant, and they are not mine either. So I have no deeper knowledge about it. However that time I saw this small flowers were good for Macro shot taking practices.

So Where Do My Photo Taking Practice Go From Now?

Anyway I am new in this photography stuff, and I have no plan to become a professional one. However I think it's a good thing to learn new stuff every year, try to go deeper for months and then we can decide to keep it or ditch it and explore new area. I think everyone have to face the same challenges that I have to face when learning it on the beginning.

  1. Forget about image stabilization. Most phone right now have great image stabilizer, so even you have a shaky hand, the result is still focus. Old Camera doesn't have that, in fact what I know most cameras are sensitive so their stabilizer are not as good as Camera.
  2. Turn off Auto. All auto, auto zoom, auto focus and others. Auto is good when you are taking something that general. But when you want to focus on something, or pushing the camera to it's limit, Auto is very disturbing. It will confuse you by changing focus or zooming in and out.
  3. Lighting is more important, this is the same as the first one about image stabilization. When the light is not enough, you won't get a good focus. Image processing of a camera is a bit different with our eyes. This problem is common on old camera phones, but nowadays one is not. Where the light comes, it is important too. Don't take the shot which facing directly from the light source, it will kill the color.

So what should I do now? Well there are plenty, but if I have to put the most important one, there should be two things I have to learn and improve more. Those two are:

  1. Lightning. I am still bad at lightning, you can see it directly from the photos I have been sharing. I guess I need more experience, learning by doing more here. I hope it would improve better next week
  2. Photo Editing. If I use camera phone, it's AI will process it right away. However a pic from a stand alone camera is not like that, especially old ones. You need editor, such as Adobe Lightroom. I won't use Lightroom here, because I am stingy... So I will seek for the free one, not the pirated one ok. Any suggestion or recommendation for this one?

Ok that's for today, if you have some inputs for me, feel free to leave any comments below. Thank you for dropping by here, and have a good day

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I like this flower, yet it has lots of thorns.

I had my palm got scratched when moving that planter pot LoL

Yeah, that's how unsafe the plant is.

Congratulations @dewabrata! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

Kalau di laptop coba pakai paint.net buat editing kalau nggak salah ada opsi auto correct nya buat warna sama brightness nya. Coba saya cek, kalau mau agak rumit pakai GIMP cuma agak rumit nggak user friendly.

Saya cek di paint.net... ada fitur auto level di bagian adjusment. Coba diutak utik aja dah 😊

ok siap gan!!

untitled.gif