Silver Chinese water dragon round/ Re-blog lottery!

in FreeCompliments6 months ago

I will be the first to admit that I know next to nothing about the Chinese Zodiac. I know there are different animals for every Chinese year repeating every twelve years. Of course the most memorable one to me is the dragon, because who doesn't like dragons? So I did a little research to get the old brain working after a caffeine pick-me-up, or better said a wake-me-up. As it turns out not all years of the dragon are the same. It cycles through fire, earth, metal, water and wood each time. For example 2012 was the the year of the water dragon, and the next water dragon year won't be for sixty years in 2072. The same holds true for the other animals on the Chinese Zodiac. I'm sure most of you probably already knew that, but I learned something new!

What does that have to do with the title of my post you might ask? Several years ago I visited an independent jeweler in Long Beach, California who I've known for several years. He buys silver and gold at his shop and most of it he send of to be melted down, but if he finds some items he thinks some of his customers might like he hangs onto them. On this occasion I picked up a few nice items from him including a year of the dragon silver round from 2012. I really liked the dragon design so I bought it.


About the round:
Produced by APMEX
Year: 2012
Composition: 99.9% silver
Weight: One troy ounce
Obverse: Dragon with the date and Chinese characters of the date with year of the dragon above in English and Chinese.
Reverse: Chinese symbols for bravery, power, strength, luck and honest. Top shows fineness and the bottom the weight

Although I purchased the round for the nice dragon design, not knowing much about the Chinese Zodiac I had no idea that 2012 was the year of the water dragon. So I thought wouldn't it be fun to find some images of a water dragon? I proceeded to look up pictures of a Chinese water dragon thinking I might find some cool images. Instead I found out that there is such a thing as a Chinese water dragon in real life, just have a look!

petsoid.com

The Chinese water dragon is native to southern China and most of southeast Asia. As far as size they can grow up to 3 feet (90 cm) in length, so not a small reptile. They like living near fresh water in dense subtropical forests (hot summers with mild winters). Their diet consists primarily of arthropods, worms, snails and plants. They are highly prized for their meat (especially in Vietnam) and for sale as pets outside of Asia. Their eggs are commonly used in traditional medicine as well. This has placed the species on the vulnerable list as populations in the wild are diminishing due to the above mentioned reasons. Additionally habitat loss is adding to the problem.

I must admit it's a very pretty lizard and I can see why people would want them as pets since they're so colorful. I'm not a big reptile lover myself so I'll pass on being a pet owner to a lizard! I grew up with dogs and cats, and we even had a pygmy goat, rabbits, and ducks over the years. But never reptiles, my mom hated them! I guess it rubbed off on me too... Does anyone have one of these as a pet?

Thank you for stopping by and taking time to read my post. I hope you found it interesting, I know I learned a lot today. I really appreciate all of your support! If you have any suggestions, comments or questions feel free to leave them below. Thanks again!

Keep on stacking!

And my disclaimer:
Gold and silver stacking can be a fun hobby but isn't for everyone. You can lose money. I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

All pictures are mine unless otherwise noted

References:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dragon_(zodiac)
https://www.apmex.com/product/65011/1-oz-silver-round-apmex-2012-year-of-the-dragon
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_water_dragon

Re-blog lottery

Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! Today we had 27 people re-blog my post, thank you so much! You guy are the best! The people who re-blogged were:

@bitandi
@blitzzzz
@bulliontools
@caleb-marvel
@dfreitesp
@diodao
@ericburgoyne
@flaxz.alive
@florakese
@ganjafarmer
@henruc
@irfanmustafa
@kungfukid
@kunschj
@ladymisa
@matthew1
@maurojd
@monsterbuster
@offgridlife
@olaf.gui
@pepetoken
@stekene
@trautenberk
@trumpman
@vrezion
@vrezyy
@ifarmgirl-leo

Voluntary daily reminder list for those who request to be on it: @ganjafarmer
If you want to be added to the list as well just feel free to ask!

Thank you everyone! I have been working to improve my engagement and all of you have really helped out! If you have any recommendations or suggestions please feel free to let me know. I'm always looking to improve my posts.

Good luck to everyone!

And the Wheel of Names results:

Congratulations @diodao !
You will receive 3 HSBI!

Now for today's re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win 3 HSBI units! Just one prize for the lucky winner. An upvote is not required but is always greatly appreciated. Bots aren't allowed to win the prize. Contest ends at 14:00 (2 PM) California Pacific time tomorrow. If I somehow missed your re-blog please let me know and I'll add you to the next draw.

What are HSBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

Sort:  

Your post reminds me that the years of the Chinese zodiac repeat every 12 years, so next year, 2024, is going to be a new year of the Dragon. I'm curious what kind of Dragon it is.

It is possible that for that year they will launch a new coin with this mythological animal theme.

Wood dragon is 2024, I'm sure they will be producing a lot of dragon coins and rounds next year! I'm sure there are silver/gold producers that do that, and I believe Asian countries often produce yearly bullion coins with the current zodiac animal.


Thanks for the information




Carved wooden dragon, Narita-san | Ruth Hartnup | Flickr
Carved wooden dragon, Narita-san | Ruth Hartnup | Flickr
Image's Source


Stay !ALIVE

@thebighigg! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ pedrobrito2004. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

!HUG

Dear @thebighigg, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @thehockeyfan-at.
(1/3)

Thanks!
!HUG
!luv
!lol

Dear @thehockeyfan-at, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @thebighigg.
(2/3)

What's a dry orange good for?
Nothing at all. It's juiceless.

Credit: reddit
@thehockeyfan-at, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(2/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

I need to get my hands on a dragon round someday. That would be really cool.

Next year is the year of the dragon again, so there should be a lot produced! It might be your year to buy one.

When does the CLUB token go on sale?

The CLUB token is on sale right now. They are going to distribute it on Dec 4th I think. I'll keep an eye out for those rounds next year!

Excellent post here is 100% vote Plus reblog!

And I'm so excited I'm on Green!

Thank man! How are you doing today?

I was supposed to go out and waste some ammo with a friend of mine however that looks like it's just delayed for another time due to weather being non permissive!

It is amazing day however! Thank you for asking!

Sounds like it would have been a lot of fun! Rifles or pistols?

All the above! Then it really would be fun if it wasn't raining super hard! So tomorrow looks like it is going to be a lot less rain

It's always fun to squeeze off some rounds! Hopefully tomorrow cooperates!

Yeah I have finally found a little bit of 458 socom! Go look that thing up!

count me in please @ericburgoyne

re-bloged

Sure thing! I got you down!
!PGM
!pizza

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Post voted 100% for the hiro.guita project. Keep up the good work.

New manual curation account for Leofinance and Cent

I was born in the year of the dragon.
And the dragon symbol brought me good luck) thank you) ♥️

Very cool! You're welcome!
!luv
!lol

Who changes the season when Summer is over?
No one, it happens Autumnatically.

Credit: reddit
@diodao, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(5/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Wow, APMEX made a round that actually looks good! I'm surprised! Normally, their stuff is bland looking. Very cook pickup!

Yeah, they have made some good ones over the years but not much recently!
!lol

What did the judge say when the skunk walked into the courtroom?
“Odor in the court!”

Credit: reddit
@bulliontools, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(3/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

sending some !DHEDGE !LUV !PIZZA to you.

you have 0.0 vote calls available today, your vote calls will reset at next snapshot. You can buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc to increase your daily amount.

Thanks my friend!
!luv
!lol
!meme
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Who changes the season when Summer is over?
No one, it happens Autumnatically.

Credit: reddit
@ekavieka, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(4/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Very impressive water dragon, he has beautiful colors!😀
Well, you just educated me as well, I did not know that the dragons on the Chinese zodiac repeated every 12 years!
Everyone loves dragon coins, very highly detailed silver coin, my friend!🤗

Thanks! I have another coming up today that I just happened to find yesterday, it really cool!

Awesome my friend, just lost our Internet. very intense windstorm!😳
I will check it out tonight, hopefully it will be back up!🙄

That's a really sick round got me a tube of dragon bar coins recently

Sweet! I whole tube? That is awesome!

Yeah, I think he works with someone in Australia

That is neat, @thebighigg !
!LUV

Thank you! How is your Saturday going?
!luv

I don't have many Chinese coins because they don't usually have a lot of quality, but this one is beautiful.
!HUG

Dear @thebighigg, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @florakese.
(1/3)

This was a in the USA, but next year is the year of the dragon again so there should be some very cool coins produced everywhere!
!HUG
!luv
!lol

Dear @florakese, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @thebighigg.
(3/3)

Why did the visually impaired man fall into a well?
He couldn't see that well!

Credit: reddit
@florakese, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(6/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

!DHEDGE

@thebighigg has already received an upvote for this post. You still have 13.0 vote calls available today.

Count me in ^^ @subidu

All you have to do is re-blog this post and you're automatically in!

You received an upvote of 18% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you ssg-community!

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/1) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @thebighigg gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @ekavieka! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.cent
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv
- @dhedge.alive

@ekavieka has 0 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@ekavieka(1/5) tipped @thebighigg