Silver lobster coin from Anguilla / Re-blog lottery!

in FreeCompliments7 months ago

Years ago back in the 1990's I was living in the Caribbean for several years. The really nice thing about living right on the ocean is you can head out and fish pretty much anytime you have some free time. Sometimes you caught a few nice fish other times none, but it was just a beautiful day by the ocean. It's hard to beat a day like that!

Another thing I enjoyed was heading out with a buddy to go lobster hunting. We would snorkel out to a reef about fifty meters off shore and dive down to it, usually only five or ten feet down (1 to 3 meters.) We would find a couple nice lobsters and one of us would hold a net behind them and the other would prod them back into the net with a small metal rod. Then it was lobster for dinner! And it's was a lot of fun too!

The reason I share that story it is because this coin made me think of those good old days. This coins was made by the Scottsdale Mint for Anguilla, a group of island located east of Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. It's a beautiful place if you ever have the chance to visit!


About the coin:
Country: Anguilla
Year: 2018
Mint: Scottsdale Mint, Scottsdale, Arizona, US
Denomination: 2 dollars
Composition: 99.9% silver
Weight: 1 Troy ounce
Diameter: 38.6 mm
Thickness: 3.2 mm
Edge: Reeded
Obverse: Elizabeth II with lettering: Eastern Caribbean Central Bank, Two Dollars, 1 OZ .999 Silver
Reverse: Lobster with date on it's back

This is a beautiful coin produced for Anguilla like I mentioned. The Scottsdale Mint always does amazing work on all the coins they produce. This is a great one to pick up and I know several of the #silvergoldstackers have already shared one of theirs.

I only have one small issue with this coin. The lobster on the coin is a cold water Maine lobster, not a rock or spiny lobster that you would find in the warm waters of the Caribbean. I guess the reasoning behind it was that more people recognize the Maine Lobster. Have a look, I'll show you the difference between the two.

obamacartoon.blogspot.com
A Maine lobster with large claws to protect itself

nps.gov
A rock or spiny lobster, you will notice it doesn't have large claws

The rock or spiny lobster lives in warm waters such as the Caribbean and down the coast of Brazil. Instead of large claws to defend itself it has spines to defend itself. They don't taste quite like the cold water lobsters but still taste great! Plus they are easier to catch since they are in warm and shallow waters. So now you know the difference!

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and read my post. It's always a lot of fun putting them together. If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions please feel free to leave them below. Have a great weekend everyone and thanks for your support!

And my disclaimer:
Gold and silver stacking can be a fun hobby but isn't for everyone. You can lose money. I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

References:
https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces159184.html
https://lobsteranywhere.com/seafood-savvy/rock-vs-maine-lobster-whats-the-difference/

Re-blog lottery

Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! Today we had 28 people re-blog my post, thank you so much! You guy are the best! The people who re-blogged were:

@bitandi
@blitzzzz
@bulliontools
@caleb-marvel
@daddydog
@diodao
@edeyglezsosa
@flaxz.alive
@florakese
@ganjafarmer
@henruc
@hjrrodriguez
@hooiyewlim
@irfanmustafa
@jenam
@jorgebgt
@kungfukid
@ladymisa
@maurojd
@monsterbuster
@olaf.gui
@rosauradels
@stekene
@stevenseagull
@thisismylife
@trautenberk
@trumpman
@vrezyy

Voluntary daily reminder list for those who request to be on it: @ganjafarmer
If you want to be added to the list as well just feel free to ask!

Thank you everyone! I have been working to improve my engagement and all of you have really helped out! If you have any recommendations or suggestions please feel free to let me know. I'm always looking to improve my posts.

Good luck to everyone!

And since I didn't post yesterday today I will do two spins of the wheel, so two winners today!

And the Wheel of Names results:

Congratulations @jenam !
You will receive 3 HSBI units!

Now for today's re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win 3 HSBI units! Just one prize for the lucky winner. An upvote is not required but is always greatly appreciated. Bots aren't allowed to win the prize. Contest ends at 14:00 (2 PM) California Pacific time tomorrow. If I somehow missed your re-blog please let me know and I'll add you to the next draw.

What are HSBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

Sort:  

I have that one. Scottsdale Mint

It's a nice coin!

It's crab over on the other side of the continent and just as expensive a dish.🦀

All the crab and lobster has become so ridiculously expensive! I love seafood but it's all getting so pricey...

Wow that is a pretty unique design 😍 !BBH

Thanks!
!BBH

Keep posting these beautiful coins !BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (12/50)

Thanks! Scottsdale Mint makes such cool coins!

@bitcoinman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (1/1)

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (6/20)

That's quite pretty! I would be scared bumping into one in real life though :)

!PIMP

They do kind of look like bugs, but they taste good!

I don't know never ate one.. the closest thing to that I ate were shrimps and I only started to try that maybe 2 Christmases ago, lol.

How's everything over there? Here the weather is lovely!

!PIMP

Here the weather is great too, overcast buy should be warm!

I love shrimp, it's something I learned to like as an adult because I grew up in a landlocked state so sea food was expensive. Same thing with lobster, I never really started to eat it until I was living in Caribbean because it was fresh out of the water! Lobster is very distinct from shrimp and crab, but it's good!

I don't think the PIMP bot is working at the moment, maybe it will catch up!

How's everything at your place?

It doesn't seem to work indeed. I will check it tonight if it caught up or not otherwise try again.

I've always lived landlocked myself in Holland and all I can remember is sea food being expensive. Then we moved to Spain for a bit and enjoyed tons of smoked salmon as one of our special treats every week going to Aldi (lol) it was only 2 or 2,50 euros a pack. We were looking forward to this when living in Budapest (and moving back here) only to find out that smoked salmon prices went through the roof here as well. I can only imagine what it costs in landlocked areas nowadays.

I will try lobster one day if at the right place. I have not seen any place here where I feel its justified to pay top dollar for something I may hate, lol.

We did a lot of work in the house today, finally have a storage cabinet in the laundry room and the small bedroom/my office is now almost cleared from boxes. We moved the desk as well so we have some more walking space (we hurt our feet several times already on the bed, lol).

Will head to a friend to catch up after too many months in a bit. Kitten cuddly time as she has foster kitties :)

Have a good one!

I have never seen the Maine Lobster, since most lobster here is the rock one.
I read that it was not considered as a fancy delicacy back then when they were abundant, but now it is quite expensive. !LOLZ
nice coin you have there my friend.
!DHEDGE !LUV

@ekavieka sent you LUV 🙂 (4/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Have you heard the one about the jump rope?
Never mind, skip it.

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ekavieka

(2/6)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Back in the 1800's in Massachusetts, US, they used to serve Maine lobster in jails and prisons almost every day because it was so cheap! Not anymore!
!luv
!pizza
!lol
!meme

Cats can learn up to 50 different words and commands
They just don't want to.

Credit: reddit
@ekavieka, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(1/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

That’s very interesting about the Maine lobster compared to the rock lobster!
I have to admit, I would recognize the Maine lobster with the claws first!😇🤣
Someone like you that actually has been to the Caribbean would realize thisis definitely wrongimmediately !😇

It's always seemed funny to me, but it's a nice coin! Rock lobsters are easy to catch and there's a lot of them out on most reefs in the tropics.

Sounds like a very laid-back lifestyle catching your own lobster for dinner so nice!🤗

The good old days....

Not all things were good in the good old days, but I sure miss the slower pace Lol!🙄🤣😇

Eastern Caribbean Central Bank

That sounds shady af

It probably is! Probably not as bad as the Cayman Island banks though!

Makes me think of that B52's song!

Rock Lobster is a great song!

Scottsdale does such great work. I see what you mean about the difference in the lobsters. You'd think they'd worry more about accuracy than what is recognizable as a "lobster." Great coin!

Thanks! I guess they went with recognition for the image trying to sell to countries that have cold water lobsters.

Nice, @thebighigg !

Thanks!
!luv
!lol

How does a computer get drunk?
It takes screen shots.

Credit: marshmellowman
@silversaver888, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(2/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

That was creative!! A lobster nice one
!PIZZA

Scottsdale Mint always makes cool coins! Thanks!
!pizza

!LUV

@thehockeyfan-at sent you LUV 🙂 (3/4)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Thanks!
!LUV

@thebighigg sent you LUV 🙂 (1/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Cute, love it!

!DHEDGE

Thanks! Fun to catch them too!

You received an upvote of 36% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you ssg-community!

Im.on green again! Oh yeah man! Best day ever! Hahahahahhahahahaha!

And I want to grow lobsters on a salt water aquaponic system. Just for shitz and giggles. And snacks. Mmmm lobster biscuits! Hahahaha!

Thanks and have an amazing day everyone!

#freecompliments

Grow shrimp, they're cheaper! Lobsters need too much food. I always get you on green now!

I'm going to grow lobster! But actually that's a good idea to grow some shrimp too!

Why not I would like some really big shrimps. And some crayfish. I'm going to have to figure out some other plants to grow for the entire saltwater aquaponics system.

(Shush! Don't blow my bubbles man!)

I say go for it! If you want really big shrimp you'll have to grow prawns, they're fresh water though. Aren't crayfish fresh water too? I don't remember! I haven't been to New Orleans in a long time now...

Yep fresh water aquaponics is easy the salt water one is going to be a lot more of an issue. We will see how it all works out though.

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/1) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @thebighigg gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Congratulations @thebighigg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 12500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 13000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @ekavieka! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.cent
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv
- @dhedge.alive

@ekavieka has 2 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@gwajnberg(1/20) tipped @thebighigg

Beautiful round 🪙

!DHEDGE

@thebighigg has already received an upvote for this post. You still have 2.0 vote calls available today.