You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: California Monster Gold Nugget / Re-blog lottery!

Whoa! I can hardly believe the size of that nugget. That pic stopped my feed scrolling for sure! It is amazing to think that such things are still out there, waiting to be found.

My mom took me panning for gold at a commercial mine when I was a kid, and I found it very boring. I still have a tiny vial of the gold flakes we found...somewhere. Nowadays I think I'd go mostly the metal detector route, thanks to the knowledge that bending over a stream or trough of running water to pan would be VERY hard on the old back. 😂

I wish you good luck in your searches!

!PIMP
!PIZZA

Sort:  

I still pan every now and again, but it's mixed with a pan followed by rest for awhile, maybe have a beer... I'm not as young as I once was! Metal detecting is definitely the best way to do it. Modern detectors can pick up very small amount of gold and the good ones are waterproof so you can wade in the river shallows and try to find some gold. I've mostly detected in the desert because there's really no water to make panning very practical.
!BBH
!PGM
!LUV
!LOL

Makes sense. Around here it's all in/near rivers from what I've heard, so I'd have to make sure my rig was waterproof.

Thank you for the tips!

!PIZZA

You're welcome! Where about do you live just out of curiosity?
!BBH
!PIZZA

@willendorfia! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (1/50)

I'm in far northeast Tennessee, sandwiched between Virginia and North Carolina. :)

Back east I never prospected much, was usually busy with work in Philly. But there are some decent gold bearing areas not too far from where you live. Gemstones also for that matter!
!BBH

@willendorfia! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (6/50)

True, true. Mom was more of a rock hound really than a gold lover. So of course we screened for gems during our travels as well, and I have a BIG bag of those somewhere as well. Never found any diamonds though. Just rubies, sapphires, etc., and of course all in their rough state. Never even considered trying to find someone to cut them or sell them to.

@willendorfia! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (27/50)


You must be killin' it out here!
@willendorfia just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District