VIBES Web3 Music Competition Week 10 (Eurovision) - "Dizzy" by Olly Alexander (UK 2024 Entry) (Cover by @jasperdick)

in Vibes15 days ago

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Vibes Community. My name is Jasper, and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa! Welcome to Week 10 of the Vibes Web3 Music Competition!

This week we have a theme: EUROVISION! We’ve been asked to please consider tackling covers of Eurovision songs, especially if they are one of the entries for this year’s competition!

Based on this, I would like to have a shot at the UK’s official entry for 2024, which is called “Dizzy” by Olly Alexander, who is actually a pretty famous pop star and actor. People are taking this as a sign that the UK really wants a good shot at it…

Here is the official music video for “Dizzy”…

I also happened to have found this beautiful stripped down version where there is only piano and vocals. I really think this is fantastic and helped me think about how I could cover it myself.

A lot of comments on this version think that it would increase Olly’s chances of placing well, or even winning, for the UK if he tackles the first part of the song like this before going into full doof-doof pop mode! Some people say he should play the entire song like this in the final!! Haha, what do you think?

Well here’s the semi-final performance…

Wow, that was spectacular! How did they get a shifting room on stage? Steamy, intense performance by the back-up dancers, and some homophobic people are going to freak at this one! Wow!

So how is this song going to be presented in the Final, and how will it place in the competition? Well, it happens to be placed at lucky number 13 in the Grand Final line-up according to this site! (https://eurovision.tv/story/eurovision-2024-final-running-order)

For my own cover, I wanted to use a stompbox at my feet to emphasise the poppy doof-doof beat of the original music video version. The stompbox is essentially a fancy wooden box with a microphone in it! Hahaha! I tap out the rhythm of a song pretty naturally when I play guitar, so I bring a stompbox along to gigs, especially for vibey songs like this.

I also noticed that the chorus chord structure is similar to “I Will Survive”, even though the vibe and melody is completely different – it’s amazing how music can do that!

I hope you like this one! Thank you for listening! Best of luck to everyone entering the Contest!

My submission link:

Lyrics to “Dizzy!” by Olly Alexander (UK 2024 Eurovision Entry)

Di—
(Make me dizzy, dizzy, dizzy)

There's a place where we break the line (Make me)
Make it a circle redefined, mm (Di—)
Beautiful gardens, eternal flowers (Make me di—)
You know the way, so take me there

Won't you make me dizzy from your kisses?
Will you take my hand and spin me
'Round and 'round until the moment never ends? Mm
Make me dizzy from your kisses
Will you take my hand and spin me?
Take me back to the beginning again (Again, again)

Pulling me close, I feel a stillness in the air (Di—)
Time has frozen, all memories lost

So won't you make me dizzy from your kisses?
Will you take my hand and spin me
'Round and 'round until the moment never ends? Mm
Make me dizzy from your kisses
Will you take my hand and spin me?
Take me back to the beginning again (Again, again)

So don't you make me dizzy from, oh
(Oh, won't you make)

There isn't an end, there isn't a start
I don't wanna stop, I can't go too far
There isn't an end, there isn't a start
I don't wanna stop, I can't go too far
There isn't an end, there isn't a start
I don't wanna stop, I can't go too far
There isn't an end, there isn't

So won't you make me dizzy from your kisses? (Oh)
Will you take my hand and spin me
'Round and 'round until the moment never ends?
(Until the moment never ends)
Uh, make me dizzy from your kisses
Will you take my hand and spin me? (Take my hand)
Take me back to the beginning again (Again, again)

SOURCE: https://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/yearsyears/dizzy.html

Sort:  

Oh my gosh. I heard I will survive straight away. Yes, isn't music magical? Like the alphabet and the 26 letters of endless possibilities. We'll never discover it all and that is what makes music so exciting! Well done Jasper. Excellent entry <3

gosh that stripped down version is gorgeous though hey?

Yes, I do agree as well, it is a musical gem

This was a great cover entry jasper, I thoroughly enjoyed your approach to it, great playing and good singing, it sure is a catchy song, but the piano stripped down version is far far superior in musicality and overall experience, it would be great if he did that in the finals.

-@Verbal-D Official Vibes Judge

Yayy, we presented the same song this week 🎉. Dizzy is surely a catchy song. I like that you covered the song in your own way, keeping the upbeat quality also. I love the video of the original song and that stripped back version is 🔥. I totally enjoyed your entry. Well done friend ❤️

Oh! How nice!
I just listened to this same song and it was beautiful.
This upbeat version is stunning and I like how you did yours. Lovely