Worst Gaming Experience// Being A Broke Gamer

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

I got into playing games when my friend used to come over to my place and he brought his Xbox. I wanted to start a gaming channel. One problem. I was broke and had a sucky laptop. My laptop was so bad I couldn't even get 20 FPS. I got comments left and right about my laptop.
It quit back in 2018

I had no money for a new one. I never got to experience the games I loved at a nice clean 60+ FPS. I think that is an unpleasant experience. Seeing all of these games come out and you can't play them due to having a toaster laptop/ not owning a ps4/xbox.

I have a Wii, but no money for a capture card. If I had the money for a capture card, I could have just played some Wii games.

image.png
~image is from pixabay.com

It was unpleasant seeing everyone with these nice gaming laptops/consoles while I had nothing.

I hope someone out there can relate to this. Telltale Games closed in 2018. There was a game I never got to play all because I couldn't afford a gaming laptop, console, and my phone was not compatible. (Telltale games was ported to mobile)

You know Minecraft? Telltale made it into a story mode. S2 came on in 2017 I think. Minecraft Story Mode.

It was removed everywhere (steam, PSN, Xbox) I really wanted to play it. Now I will never get the chance to experience the game. Sometimes I wish I could have had money to build a gaming laptop or the money for a console.

Minecraft-Story-Mode-Episode-7-Features.jpg
Screen from the game. ~google images

To me, bad gaming experience is missing out on a game due to the lack of equipment, and it gets purged from Steam/PSN/XBOX/Switch, etc and you missed your chance unless you have a computer and torrent it. Or a friend got a disk copy and they lend it to you. (say your parents/friend buy you a console/PC)
Or if Walmart/Amazon etc sell a disk copy

All I was able to do is older games (like the old school Sims) or indie games like Undertale. I constantly got complaints on YouTube for playing older games. I was sick and tired of telling people I did not have the equipment to play newer games.

I never understood what was the big deal.

Sims2ep9 2016-06-02 13-27-37-95.jpg
~Old school Sims (The Sims 2)

I had to try so hard to avoid lets plays of games because I wanted to experience it myself. (but couldn't because no equipment) If its a game like Resident evil I may watch a walkthrough so I won't walk around like a dumb ass when I don't know where the key is.

I joined Steemit back in 2017 to try to save for a gaming laptop or console (whichever was affordable) but it was impossible on 3 cents a post. I didn't just join for the money but also another place to try to connect.

If I got a dollar every time someone made comments about me playing 'old'
games I probably would have accumulated enough money for a laptop or console. To me it is a bad experience wanting to enjoy a game you can either afford or a game you missed out on when it first came out; only for people to make comments that the game is 'too old' for you to enjoy.
People should be able to enjoy whatever game they want! So they are implying you can't enjoy something because of when it came out. People still like Titanic and it came out WAY before I was born! How are games any different?

In my opinion. Being broke makes gaming a tough hobby if you
-can't afford a gaming computer/console
-you have a gaming rig or console but the games are pricey when they first come out
-having to rely on sales/bundles to buy the games (if the game is a series like the walking dead telltale, there may be a bundle with the whole season for let's say 30 bucks) originaly price being lets say 60 don't forget tax
-people shading you for liking older games or playing what you can afford (if you have a YT channel)
or if your computer/console breaks and you have no money for repairs.
There is an app called Keymailer but there is only like a 10% chance the dev will send you a key.
-you missed out on a game and it was pulled due to company closing. And you can't find a disk copy.

I have a ps4 now, I feel I should hope on a game. There is no guarantee it will be here months from now.

Sort:  
UpvoteBank
Your upvote bank
__2.jpgThis post have been upvoted by the @UpvoteBank service. Want to know more and receive "free" upvotes click here

I can relate to this post, it´s a shame when you are broke and you are into gaming since it´s an expensive hobby.

I never got to play Mine Craft Story Mode S2 because of this. Didn't have a PC that could run it/nor owned a console. My mom upgraded my phone but the phones version was not compatible. Now it was removed everywhere when Telltale shut down in 2018.

Oh, I can absolutely relate to this. Gaming is quite an expensive hobby, especially if you're a PC player, and thus need to upgrade your machine every so often with new hardware. I myself just replaced my 10 year old PC with a new machine and splurged several hundred bucks on a reasonably powerful graphics card which will hopefully be enough to hold me for a while.

I feel your pain. :)

Even if someone is going for a console it´s quite expensive, sadly it´s not a hobbie for everyone but at least older consoles are cheaper.

True. It's a major reason I haven't cared much about this past generation of consoles. I have so much stuff I have yet to finish from the PS2 and PS3 era, the PS4 and PS5 really don't interest me. :)

Or if you game on PS4/Xbox. Those games can be pricey when they are released and you have to depend on bundles (if the game has a series like The Walking Dead Telltale and they offer the full series for a good price) or sales.

Very completely identified since I do not have the resources to power my computer or buy a more updated video game console and because of this I cannot take advantage of the new games that are coming out, it is very frustrating really.

What's worse is when it is purged from PSN/XBOX/Steam etc like Minecraft story mode when Telltale closed. I had S1 on my phone then deleted it due to storage space. Now I wish I would have kept it and bought the season pass.

Is this how you plan to participate in a contest where quality is paramount? Please, we give you the opportunity to make a better post. Edit it and do your best. There are participants who have written great entries. Think you're up against the best writers in the world and you have to at least touch their heels.

At least tell me what's missing. How do you expect me to do better with no guild ( how many paragraphs, words, photos/videos your activity requires) if you want me to fix your TV, I need to know what is wrong. I am not an all star writer. I am an ameture at most. At least be understanding that I hit a block while writing and impusivly published it.

Quality is everything but what you wrote. Is that clear to you? Read other people's posts, you'll know what quality is. If you don't know what quality is, search for "quality" in google.

I ask you to be understanding that I had trouble coming up with what to write and you couldn't even do that. Clearly, you have no fucking idea about writer's block and how it can hold writers back from unleashing their creativity. Low effort posts are not always intentional like you think. Give people ideas instead of fucking shaming them. I rather look at a post like this for ideas since my topic is being broke and I have not seen anything like that so far. What would have been so hard about
'tell me a game you want to play but can't because you don't have a gaming rig'
'tell us how hard it was playing on your old laptop'
then I would have sparked an idea about loads of games I loved but couldn't play. Your comment did not help at all. So yeah; your 'approach' does not help me.

Been there. You know what I did? I bought the cheap games from the prior console generation. There's tons of great games on every console, and now, more than a decade later? those games are worth some serious cash! I got Goldeneye for $7. Mario Kart 64 for $20. DK64 for $5 All of those are worth 3-8x what I spent for them 15 years ago. I got Castle Shikigami 2 on clearance for $2. It was "so bad it's good" sort of game, but it's worth more than 10x that now. Will I get rid of it? Hell no! I'm just glad I bought them when I did...

 4 years ago  

Thank God for emulators. They make your old PC into a retro arcade center or into an alternate PS1/PSP/Gameboy Advance or Nintendo DS.