[Acid Plays] Trying out the upcoming blockchain MMORPG; The Six Dragons

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

Now before I get into this I need to stress that the game is still in open alpha mode, so don't expect too much. If you're like me, though, an MMORPG combined with a crypto ecosystem is something you may have been awaiting to enter the space for a long time. Well, here is one. Now naturally MMORPG's are going to take a long time to get out of beta and alpha, they generally take forever to be created and released as there's just so much to be done within them. Some other upcoming MMORPG's I'm excited about (which aren't blockchain-based though) are New World and Ashes of Creation.

Without getting too much on the details of Six Dragons, as much of the info can be found on their website (also note that anyone can try the game out by downloading the launcher and installing the game, you will need an enjin wallet to enter, though). Here's some footage I recorded of my first time entering the game and doing various things within it with some commentary.



Now while I know there's still a lot to do for this game to be enjoyable and start amassing more users, I'm excited about the idea in general. As someone who's played a lot of world of warcraft and tested other MMORPG's and kind of hoping that genre would make a comeback at some point, I really think that what the genre needs is dedicated developers that will listen to the community and give the players what they want along with an ecosystem that the players themselves control and exchange value between each other instead of the company harnessing all of it. I'm really excited about blockchain gaming in general and can't wait to see what else is going to be arriving next.

If you have any suggestions on other blockchain based games I should take a look at please drop me a comment cause I'm super interested if I've missed out on any interesting ones!

Until next time!


Parts of the post rewards going back to curators using @reward.app.
Forgot to set it as beneficiary. T_T


Sort:  

Great review acidyo,how can I get the game pls?am new here so I don't know much.

Here's a link to their website: https://thesixdragons.com/

You can just download the launcher, register an account and use your enjin wallet to login afterwards!

I can't wait to see where this game's development goes. You would think heavily economic MMO's like Eve would be perfect for a blockchain backed economy. I wonder if there are legal/regulatory complications that prevent established games from porting their games to crypto.

Yeah I think that's one of the great barriers for the giants, altho I think many don't bother looking for solutions cause they already do well enough, those who might and introduce a cryptocurrency to their ecosystem may have a great advantage and bring both blockchain tech to their players along with growing the playerbase by a lot and then seeing competitors mirror them. Until then I guess there's some wiggleroom for new dev teams and investors+players to try build their stuff from the ground up. You snooze you lose!

Looks interesting. I wonder how much actual content they are going to get in the game. It sucks when games like this get announced, people start buying stuff for them, and then it never gets finished in the end. Hopefully we can get a decent blockchain based game soon.

I made it to level 10 before I got somewhat bored of it. For a while I was just running around aoeing for xp. The 10 to 15 stuff taking on more than 2 at a time is death and slow.

It’s got some cool ideas in it. I was just hoping the next city would be a level 10 area so I wouldn’t have to run so far to get to a dungeon. I never made it to it after running into some harder stuff.

I do hope this game takes off. I might play once in a while just to try leveling up and learning a little more about the game.

Yeah, I didn't play a lot so I probably missed out on some content that still exists so should spend more time on it, but I'm also hopeful it continues developing well.

Great review Acidyo! really wanted know about this game! Thanks a bunch!

Enjoy! :)

Thanks for the review Acidyo. There seems to be a lot to be done still, but as an MMORPG lover, I would love to see where this goes.

Video games are going to end up on the blockchain once game developers realize how much money can be made in this model. Take Call of Duty for example. They have had their own in game currency CoD points for years that you use to buy in game items. If they put this currency on the blockchain, now they can run an auction house type feature and take a transaction fee for every purchase. Now they would have a cryptocurrency that already has a huge awareness and easily would have value on exchanges. Its only a matter of time before large game developers jump on this.

I think the difference here is that their points are centralized on purpose so they can issues as many as they want and make holding them not profitable for the players who want to invest in the future of the currency and ecosystem. It's more like a stablecoin at this point. I guess they could make items have true ownership through blockchain but I kind of also don't see that happening as they enjoy banning accounts who're cheating and taking their items with it. It's going to be a difficult barrier to cross and they're going to have to choose to let go of a lot of power for the sake of a cryptocurrency that we deem to be one and not just a centralized stablecoin they got going right now. I honestly hope new folks take the chance to develop something of their own that's truly fair to the players and only think longterm with profits where as you say they'd just make a profit by taking fees from the transactions with the currency instead of issuing them at will like they do now.

 3 years ago  

This game is amazing, it falls into one of my favorite genres of video games, the last mmorpg game I played was called forzaken world, I got very far in that game during the time when the servers were active, in fact I don't know if it would be resurrected, but it was very fun at the time, this game reminds me a lot of Raisen.

It looks like Gothic/Risen