Immutable X launch!

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

After a long wait Immutable X finally launches as an alpha version to make it possible for traders to test it out and trade the season 2 cards of Gods Unchained called Trial of the Gods. Immutable X is a layer-2 solution that uses zksnarks as one of the first layer 2 solutions, it's something Vitalik Buterin has talked a lot about in the past and thinks they're up for the challenge compared to other second layer solutions to ETH, mainly those with their own tokens like OMG, Matic (renamed to Polygon), Loom Network, etc. This will most likely mean there won't be an IMX token, at least not yet, but a lot of Gods Unchained players aren't that interested in that as they're mainly happy to finally be able to trade cards again.

A good link if you want to read more about zkSnarks

Starting out you'll only be able to trade TotG cards, they've already been minted on IMX if you linked your wallet in time when they first announced IMX about to be released. The IMX website looks really slick but so far there's very few things you can do on it, many raised their concerns over not even being able to properly filter their cards or stack the ones they have many of on top of each other for a cleaner collection page, but keep in mind this is still Alpha and more settings can easily be added later once the more important things are working properly. One of them is to be able to trade your cards without having to pay ETH gas fees in between!

image.png

Once you sign the transaction with your Eth wallet you'll be logged in and can browse your Inventory, right now the only way to filter cards is by searching for them:

image.png

The marketplace works similarly right now where you can search for cards based on keywords and they're listed based on lowest price first:

image.png

Then there's also a transaction tab that brings up a window showing your recent transactions:

image.png

In a nutshell, the only time you have to pay gas fees now is when you send ETH to your IMX "wallet" and convert it to "IMX ETH" and maybe when you want to send it back out again, think similar to other pegged tokens like WETH. This will allow you to trade on IMX without having to pay the ridiculous ETH fees we know today and IMX is said to be able to handle OVER 9000 tx's per second!

If you're someone who's been purchasing Season 2 packs, you're now able to trade these on Immutable X: https://market.x.immutable.com/

I've personally not bought much TotG cards so I'm not looking to be selling any as of yet, maybe buy some I'm lacking if the prices look good, but I'm more looking forward to genesis cards being on IMX as well, hopefully soon! It's hard to say what value the cards should have, if they will hold or if they will go up in price and when but Gods Unchained has seen an increase in new users and activity ever since the Coinbase earn promotion with a lot of activity still existing even after the promotion ended. Now with IMX and trading being possible again I'm looking forward to see how the team will continue development, marketing and the impact it will have to adoption. The game itself is really fun and really finetuned. It's very seldom I run into bugs these days.

Since I personally don't have much of an opinion on season 2 packs, I figured I'd drop a link to a Buyers Guide made by @copperpitch recently:

Make sure to subscribe to him on Youtube for more GU content and of course also check out @teamstreamteam on Hive who are one of the most skilled teams in GU right now providing invaluable content and thoughts on the game and cards!


Sort:  

Nice post! I wouldn't buy anything right now either. They held back a ton of Trial Packs. Once free 2 player (like me) flood the market with their cards, prices will drop.

The prices will move up a lot, once forging is up again, because at that point the supply of cards is going down siginificantly.

They held back a ton of Trial Packs.

They didn't mint everything? I felt like some shiny cards were missing that I should have in my inventory but wasn't too sure.

Yeah can't wait for forging and seeing what some core cards will be worth will be interesting too. I still have a couple epic cores I haven't gotten yet even though I'm level 420 now, lol, will need to buy them.

Wow. I'm level 89 and got double and triples legends that are pretty much worthless.
I'm hoping for a second echophon. That might my worth something.

They have minted all the trial cards out there, but they haven't distributed the trial packs from the weekend events for weeks.

I've been casually playing since day 1. :P If you look at my flux amount it won't reflect to my level cause I just play a few gods, need to try improve on that!

Flux is hard. I'm kind of addicted to grinding this kind of game, but flux is no motivator at all, since forging is so far away in the future and I don't even know how much flux is going to be needed.

I can't wait for the weekend packs. Last week I managed to get 18 wins last week, but i moved down to shadow because I got crushed higher up. Now I will get the rewards for 17 only. :/

thank you for the plug my dude <3

So what is the lowdown for those who bought genesis packs... are we stuck on ethereum can we move? Will it be crazy expensive? Will we ever be able to sell those cards?

Sorry missed this comment somehow, as far as I know they're rolling out IMX in stages, next up I believe they'll be moving the genesis cards over to IMX along with the core cards (those who can be earned by playing) and then also enable fusing again. I think they'll be "copying" them over and only accept the IMX version to be traded and tell other marketplaces to do the same so that people won't have to literally move them over and have to pay outrages amounts of fees to do so. This is where it gets a bit technical, though, so I can't say what I'm saying is for sure as I haven't been able to follow it that well but it's still some time off at least before genesis tradig is possible on IMX.

Oh its live. Time to see if I can sell some of my cards.

DM me what u wanna sell in case you have something I want. XD

How long does setup take? Its been a few minutes...

Think it goes in waves, should've linked it in time, noob!

Two and a half years waiting to see will I even turn out equal from my genesis packs :)

if you look at the price history chart of cards on https://tokentrove.com/GodsUnchainedCards they've been doing pretty okay considering eth's price movement. Although that may just be for the cards people actually want as they're really good in the games.

I've looked at this game a few times but never dug into it. From what I understand it's on Ethereum so are the transactions for this game like $20 - $30 as well or is something in place to void those fees?

I also just started in on Synergy of Serra but just found out that was on Ethereum as well so I have to mint the packs which costs a pretty penny sigh

xD a bit of a funny question considering the post is exactly about the solution that just launched to the eth fees. IMX is a decentralized layer 2 exchange that removes the trading fees!

I bought a couple SoS packs through ETH but I think they're operating on Matic!

I've been seeing work arounds but wasn't sure how fully operational this one was as of yet. I guess what I'm asking as I stopped following this game is now that cards can be traded without the high fee is the game operational as of yet like you can play it with these cards? or has that part of the game not launched yet and it's simply stacking and trading cards for now?

Yeah you can still play but ever since eth fees went up buying them made it close to impossible. Some people paid 50% of some cards value and cheaper cards would've been even more, literally a whales game. Anyway, with IMX now you can trade season 2 cards, soon genesis cards and core ones as well and hopefully also the next season's cards that are coming out soonish. This'll also mean that everything you earn and fuse together to make them NFT's will be tradable on IMX as well.

Is immutable x like a game or what?

The first game using IMX is Gods Unchained.
IMX itself is the layer 2 solution for trading without gas prices.

Ok thanks

It's a decentralized exchange removing the need to pay gas fees for each trade.

That sounds like something ETH really needs. Do you pay to get the NFT on the market? or it uses your wallet?

Listing is free! Just tested it after I wrote this, you just need to sign the transaction to list cards! I'll send some ETH over soon to test buying something to see what and if there are any fees associated with buying.

Ok so buying those cards is how you do it. Nice

I still can't fuse cards. BOOOO

It's only been two years can you chill

No I can’t. I expect so much more from a game I’ve put in $10 and 2 hours into. I could have bought a sandwich with that money and watched some movie in that time.

You have every right to be upset sir, but please give them some more time they only have $20m in investment and coinbase and sold two full seasons of cards so far, they need more time!

Man I'm not doing GU any favors with this post.

I could have done this for 2 sandwiches 3 bags of pistachios and 2 weeks. How hard can it be to launch a block chain?

Lol, being harsh js good. Stand up for yourself and don’t let them shit all over you.

The funniest part when I woke up today to read was that people sending eth to their IMX wallets weren't getting them. It's like, what. Honestly dunno, maybe it's easy to judge not being aware of everything and maybe it's really not something you can just throw money at and it'll get fixed. I still have hopes its the latter as the game itself has been decent and could easily get mass adopted especially with the hype around NFT's and these game assets having some actual usecase than just flexing over art you bought on twitter. Time will tell but I'm gonna try hold them as long as I can.

I hope they improve the playability of the game. It runs pretty badly on my laptop compared to Hearthstone. It’s also a lot harder to know what the keywords do and isn’t as intuitive. The dragging also sucks compared to other card games. It’s just not as intuitive as it could be.

are we rich yet. :)

soon tm