Taking a look at the old Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars [ENG/ESP]

in Hive Gaminglast month

guh.png


RIGHTFIX - JSRF.png


I've played Super Mario RPG before a few years back, but I didn't have much memory of it after a certain section in some sewers...

I remember getting my hands on this one after completing Paper Mario on the Wii, this being the first and so far only RPG I've completed, but never finishing it. But when a few days ago I was on notice of a power outage coming to the area where I live, I ended up setting up my phone with the game...and well, on a few occasions with or without power, I've been making more progress than I expected.

So, for the first time in years, here I tell you about my first journey into....


Screenshot_2024-03-14-13-03-09-213_com.explusalpha.Snes9xPlus.jpg


It all starts when Mario once again has to rescue Peach from Bowser's hands, and after reaching him, with a climactic fight, Mario ends up defeating him...but Bowser takes him with him as the castle collapses, and in that Mario ends up flying out of the castle as a giant sword falls on top of him.

Mario ends up falling inside his house, explaining his dilemma to a Toad, who gives you tutorials for things like the extra attack command when you press A at the right time, and then goes off to find Peach back in the castle...but this sword tells you that the castle now belongs to Smithy, and destroys the bridge.

And to describe beyond that would be more or less trying to summarize how the game goes, which I think might already be a bit redundant for those who have already played...and also for me in thinking about how I write my thoughts on the game, so I'm going to focus more on how I found that journey so far.


image.png

Simply put, while the game has more of an RPG tinge to it than Paper Mario, especially since it was the first in the franchise and comes from Square (now Square Enix) responsible for Final Fantasy, it still has a more distinct simplicity than other RPGs, or at least that's how I perceived it although it does feel more complex than Paper Mario as you progress.

image.png

It's funny that here Mario's basic attack is to hit two hits and his special that spends Flower points (magic, energy, whatever you want to call it) is his jump attack, but in this game you can also get weapons that change Mario's basic attack, like the Hammer Bros Hammer that you get when you face that mini-boss and the Noknok/Koopa shell that you get when you complete the Midas Course after defeating Belome in the sewers.

It's interesting to me how the game makes you use your head in your moves when you have to balance between normal attacking, special attacking and using items to heal yourself, but mostly when Mallow arrives on your team. Mallow is weak on physical attacks but has the Thunderbolt attack that does magic damage to all enemies, so sometimes you'll have to decide whether to use flower points for that if there are a lot of enemies, have him defend himself so he doesn't take as much damage if attacked, or leave him to heal Mario while he attacks.

Speaking of the sewers, something curious was that I almost got stuck again in the sewers for going around and not finding where to get in. In the end I did look up how to get around that and it turns out that a corner that I had ignored for quite a while had a pipe that led to a button to drain the water and go down another pipe that took me further on.

...And seeing what I saw after that made me realize that, while at some point I did get stuck at that point, I should have played what came next when there were things I recognized and remembered. The Midas Course, going to Rose Town, getting into the forest maze, meeting Geno and fighting Bowyer, Yo'ster Island, and getting to Moleville where I left the game until now.

image.png

image.png

image.png


The game still has its charisma in those prerendered graphics, mostly with the tiny Mario that they bothered to keep tiny in the remake [hooray] and the songs that adorn the game. Sometimes the system of upgrading your attack with a button can feel accurate or inaccurate depending on what the attack is, but at least it does add something to do in the same way Paper Mario would later (only more visible and even intuitive for not having as many attacks available).

And speaking of charisma, I can't omit some pretty funny dialogues that add that little bit of extra personality to the game.

image.png

image.png

It's going to be interesting how I handle the team when I get the last two team members, which I won't name since I know them but they will be a funny surprise for those who don't know about them, but at least I have the little wizard Mallow who can use HP Rain to heal if I don't have mushrooms on me, and Geno who can hit just as hard as Mario with his normal attack and with his Geno Beam.

At this point I already have two out of seven stars to get, but since this is as far as I'll have gotten the last time I played this game this much, the next will be new territory to explore. Although I'm curious to see what the famous 5 Axem Rangers that I mainly remember from Super Mario Bros Z will be like, although of course, here they'll be just as small as the rest instead of having Megaman Zero bodies...and they won't be destroyed by Mecha Sonic, but I'll have to beat them up.

As an RPG that it is, but at least relatively simpler: It has its attacks with two-digit numbers, and the bosses if you check them have three-digit lives, but at least I don't see that they'll get to four digits and most of the time it's hard to miss where you have to go.

So...yeah, this will probably be the second RPG I end up completing. Sorry Final Fantasy on PSP, I don't know if I lost your save game but you did take the edge off when I had to be searching all over the blue sea for where I had to go when you didn't give me a hint (...and no, I hadn't been looking for a guide. If I get up the nerve to try it again, I'll have to).

Thanks for reading!


LEFTFIX - TEMJIN.png


English translation with DeepL. All screenshots were captured by myself.


Español


He jugado Super Mario RPG antes hace unos años atrás, pero no tenía muchos recuerdos a partir de cierta sección en unas alcantarillas...

Recuerdo poner mis manos en este después de completarme Paper Mario en el Wii, este siendo el primer y hasta ahora único RPG que me he completado, pero nunca terminarlo. Pero cuando hace unos días estaba con el aviso de un apagón que vendría al área donde vivo, terminé preparando mi teléfono con el juego...y bueno, en unas cuantas ocasiones con o sin luz, he estado haciendo más progreso de lo que esperaba.

Así que por primera vez en años, aquí les cuento de mi primera travesía en...


Screenshot_2024-03-14-13-03-09-213_com.explusalpha.Snes9xPlus.jpg


Todo empieza cuando Mario una vez más tiene que rescatar a Peach de las manos de Bowser, y después de llegar a el, con una pelea climática, Mario termina derrotándolo...pero Bowser se lo lleva con el mientras el castillo se derrumba, y en eso termina Mario volando fuera del castillo mientras que cae una espada gigante encima.

Mario termina cayendo dentro de su casa, explicandole su dilema a un Toad, que te ofrece tutoriales para cosas como el comando de ataque adicional cuando presionas A en el momento correcto, y luego sale a buscar a Peach de nuevo en el castillo...pero esta espada te dice que ahora el castillo le pertenece a Smithy, y destruye el puente.

Y describir mas allá de eso sería mas o menos intentar resumir como va el juego, lo cual pienso podría ya ser un poco redundante para los que ya hayan jugado...y también para mi en pensar de como redacto mis pensamientos sobre el juego, así que voy a enfocarme más en como me pareció hasta ahora esa travesía.


image.png

Sencillamente, mientras que el juego tiene más tinte de RPG que Paper Mario, más que todo cuando fue el primero de la franquicia y viene de Square (actualmente Square Enix) responsable de los Final Fantasy, aún sigue teniendo una sencillez más marcada que otros RPG, o al menos así lo percibí aunque si se siente más complejo que Paper Mario a medida que avanzas.

image.png

Es gracioso que aquí el ataque básico de Mario sea pegar dos golpes y su especial que gasta puntos de Flor (magia, energia, como quieras llamarle) es su ataque de salto, pero en este juego también puedes conseguir armas que cambian el ataque básico de Mario, como el Martillo de Hammer Bros que consigues cuando te enfrentas a ese minijefe y el caparazón Noknok/Koopa que te regalan al completar el Midas Course después de vencer a Belome en las alcantarillas.

Se me hace interesante como el juego te pone a usar la cabeza en tus movidas cuando tienes que balancear entre atacar normal, atacar especial y usar objetos para curarte, pero más que todo cuando Mallow llega a tu equipo. Mallow es débil en ataques físicos pero tiene el ataque Thunderbolt que hace daño mágico a todos los enemigos, así que a veces tendrás que decidir si usar puntos de flor para eso si hay muchos enemigos, hacer que se defienda para que no sufra tanto daño si lo atacan, o dejarlo para curar a Mario mientras que ataca.

Hablando de las alcantarillas, algo curioso fue que casi me quedaba encerrado de nuevo en las alcantarillas por dar vueltas y no encontrar por donde meterme. Al final si busqué como hacer con eso y resulta que una esquina que había ignorado por un buen rato tenía un tubo que llevaba a un botón para drenar el agua y bajar por otro tubo que me llevaba más adelante.

...Y ver lo que veía después de eso me hizo dar cuenta que, mientras que en algún punto si me quedé trabado en ese punto, si debí de jugar lo que venía después cuando habían cosas que reconocía y recordaba. El Midas Course, irme a Rose Town, meterme en el laberinto del bosque, encontrarme a Geno y pelear con Bowyer, la isla Yo'ster, y llegar a Moleville en donde dejé el juego hasta ahora.

image.png

image.png

image.png


El juego aún tiene su carisma en esos gráficos prerenderizados, mas que todo con el diminuto Mario que se dignaron en mantener diminuto en el remake [hurraaaa] y las canciones que adornan el juego. A veces el sistema de mejorar tu ataque con un botón puede sentirse preciso o impreciso dependiendo de cual sea el ataque, pero al menos si añade algo para hacer de la misma forma que Paper Mario lo haría después (solo que más visible y hasta intuitivo por no tener tantos ataques disponibles).

Y hablando de carisma, no puedo omitir ciertos diálogos bastante graciosos que le añaden ese toquecito de personalidad adicional al juego.

image.png

image.png

Va a ser interesante como maneje el equipo cuando consiga a los últimos dos integrantes del equipo, los cuales no nombraré ya que los conozco pero si serán una sorpresa graciosa para el que no sepa de ellos, pero al menos tengo al pequeño mago Mallow que puede usar HP Rain para curar si es que no tengo hongos encima, y a Geno quien puede pegar igual de fuerte que Mario con su ataque normal y con su Geno Beam.

A este punto ya tengo dos de siete estrellas que conseguir, pero ya que hasta aquí fue que habré llegado la última vez que jugué tanto este juego, lo siguiente ya será territorio nuevo por explorar. Aunque si me da curiosidad de ver como serán los famosos 5 Axem Rangers que principalmente recuerdo por Super Mario Bros Z, aunque claro, aquí serán igual de pequeños que el resto en vez de tener cuerpos de Megaman Zero...y no serán destrozados por Mecha Sonic, pero si tendré que darles su paliza.

Como RPG que es, pero al menos relativamente más simple: Tiene sus ataques con números de dos cifras, y los jefes si los revisas tienen vida de tres cifras, pero al menos no veo que llegarán a tener cuatro cifras y la mayoría del tiempo es difícil perderse de donde tienes que ir.

Así que...si, es probable que este sea el segundo RPG que termine completando. Lo siento Final Fantasy de PSP, no sé si perdí tu partida guardada pero si me quitaste las ganas cuando tenía que estar buscando por todo el mar azul en donde tenía que ir cuando no me diste una pista (...y no, no había buscado una guía. Si me animo a probarlo de nuevo, tendré que hacerlo.)

¡Gracias por leer!


LEFTFIX - TEMJIN.png


Traducción al inglés hecha con DeepL. Todas las fotos capturadas por mí.

Sort:  

I got all the way to the end on wii virtual console. I never got around to finishing it though. I am thinking of getting the remake at some point to experience it again. I did not enjoy this game as much as Paper Mario, but I enjoyed it regardless!

un clásico que no se olvida