Escape from Tarkov - The hardcore game, hardcore time consumer

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

I've been playing games for a long time. I've seen the evolution of games through years and the games are these days somewhat... easier?

tarkov.gif

Gamers are hand-held while doing anything, quest locations are pointed out and all information is given to the player in an easy way. This has made it easier for games to be mainstream and approachable for everyone.

But this isn't the best option for those who want to challenge themselves with games. Luckily we have games like Escape from Tarkov.

screenshot_1.jpg

The idea of the game is somewhat simple:
You need to get out from the game area and while you're there, finish quests, kill other people and grab a ton of loot.

You can play as either PMC (main character) or SCAV (randomized), in where PMC is your main character gaining levels, skill levels etc. while SCAV is a randomized character which doesn't allow level progress BUT can bring loot back to your stash.

Screenshot_2.jpg

Game rounds are called "raids" and between raids you can go through your gear & stash, upgrade your hideout and trade with the traders in Tarkov. When you enter the raid, you'll enter the map from one of the different spawn points and will get your specific exit points. Some of the exit points are time-specific, others have specific requirements if you need to enter (certain gear, SCAV&PMC entering together) or they are just always available.

There is no map in the game itself. Quite many players are using third party maps found online, but finding your way through the area may prove difficult especially as enemies are around.

screenshot_3.jpg

There are two different kinds of hostile forces: other PMCs and SCAVs. The SCAVs can be player controlled SCAVs or AI SCAVs, but normally when playing as PMC you should treat everyone else as an enemy. Unless you're playing with your friends! You're able to have a few other players in your team, but there's a high risk that you'll shoot at least one of your friends when it's hard to tell them apart from the enemy.

The HUD is minimal, getting shot at is terrifying and it's even worse when they hit you. Player can die extremely fast from being hit or if there is a serious bleeding wound.

screenshot_4.jpg

The player also can die in thirst or hunger or break their legs from a fall.

Armor will protect you from dying - to a limit - but armor piercing bullets and headshots will still usually get you really fast.

screenshot_5.jpg

It's hard to describe the game as it is brutal. My survival rate has been close to 40%, which means that I've survived almost 40% of my rounds. And that is somewhat high for a player doing solo runs. Those who play in a big team usually might survive better, but playing solo is more risky.

Imagine ending up in a firefight with a team of 4 players. The odds are not too good. Usually even one player is enough to kill you.

tarkov_gif_1.gif

But the game is mostly well made. The sounds seem realistic and play an important role in the game. You can spot enemies from their running, loading or shooting sounds. You can hear the player sneaking through the bushes and panting after being shot. The guns have had a lot work on them, the guns are extremely different to use and you'll find your favorites quickly. Not only the guns matter, but there are very big differences in the mags and bullets you'll need for the guns.

screenshot_7.jpg

It's hard to describe what is so fun in the game. It's extremely addictive, as the brutality of the game makes you appreciate every single success you have.

screenshot_6.jpg

Also, this has been a big reason why I haven't been very active lately. Summer has been wonderful and when I'm on the computer, I've been playing this.

Sort:  

Looks pretty fun to be honest. Too bad I'm on a laptop with a shit connection or I'd show you how it's done. 😀

It is fun! In it's own, weird way.

My first round was fun, I was wandering in the forest for 15 minutes and when I finally found some buildings, I was shot instantly. So you'll have to be a bit weird to enjoy this.

This game is amazing. I have never played it but I have seen one of my favorite youtubers who is a pro at shooters and the game really catches my attention. Everything is so realistic, the environments are dark and sinister, the shootouts look like a war movie with a lot of suspense. I hope someday to be able to play it.

You should play it!

Then you know it's an amazing pain too :D

the game's hud allows you to have a better overview so that you never lose the target, the truth looks good, if it has a stable community of players it could be a pretty good game concept.

Oh I tell you, the targets will easily be lost in the game :D

I'm not sure how large the game community is, but I'm hoping this game will stay around for a good while.

I don't think I've ever tried to play these kind of games as they take a lot of time, a luxury I don't think I can afford. Also, I'm not sure I've got the right gadgets to play them games. I love watching people play though. Sometimes, I spend considerable time just watching gaming videos uploaded in this community. This one looks particularly interesting as it gives a huge feeling of watching some action movies.

Congratulations @apsu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 81000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 82000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Quick feedback
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!