Greedfall First Hour Impression - Great Details and Care

in Hive Gaming6 months ago

Greedfall First Hour Impression - Great Details

Greetings friends, how are you. I haven't had time to play games for a while, but I wanted to share with you a game that I had the opportunity to try recently. The name of the game is Greedfall. It was liked by many players on Steam and I decided to download it. Since I can't find the time to play the game for a long time, I will only talk about my first one hour impression in this article. But let me say this in advance that this game starts in a really creative way and the details are tremendous. Thank you very much in advance to everyone who reads, let's get started.

Creative Character Creation Start Scene

Don't worry, it's not a spoiler, this is the first scene of the game. As soon as it starts it shows you a painter and this painter is painting a portrait of someone. Then the camera comes closer and asks you, how do you look?
That's a really cool idea. I don't know which game developer came up with it or if it's been used before, but creative ideas like that make me very happy. For example, in Fallout, we used to make our character in front of a mirror, and when you make a character in a game like this, it feels really cool. I think it creates more engagement.

There are many options when choosing your character, Warrior-Technical-Magic. But since I've been interested in magic lately, I chose the mage class. Let's see how the game will progress for me.

Combat Training

The second creative scene is a guard who challenges you. This guy wants you to prove yourself and you fight him. That's another creative transition. He directly teaches you what to press and when to press it or what spells do what.

Then two more soldiers come and with them, you reinforce the battle strategies and buttons you've learned. You learn new things. I couldn't fight very well in the first guard, but then I got the mechanics.

When a game teaches us its mechanics in this way, depending on the story, the enjoyment increases even more. This game got another plus from me.

Your Mom's Sick, People in the City Are Sick, There's a Big Epidemic

It shows us very well how serious the epidemic is in the city. You can see the epidemic doctors. It always makes players happy to save places in the fall zone and be the hero of the place, to see such places change and develop. I'm sure we'll find a cure or something to save these places at the end of the game. At least that's how I feel and hope. I can write a review after playing for a few hours, but as a first impression, I realized that something else that was expected of me was related to this disease. I'm only talking about these by talking about the environment, otherwise you can see the seriousness in the missions or NPC conversations.

I learned that we're going to go on new adventures and it's good that the quests are simple at first. Go and talk to it and let it know: so that you as a player know its purpose. Let the NPC tell you what you want and give you an update: so that you, as the player, understand the backstory and learn about the world of the game.

This kind of approach is very good. This is what I've seen in Greedfall so far: The way the story is told to the player is VERY successful. It really is AMAZING.

First Impression for Details and Graphics

I'm a person who loves to look around in games. I always look at the finest detail. I'm a crazy crazy person who even examines whether all the books in the library are the same or copy-paste. Especially in RPG games like this one. I think it might be a remnant of my attention to detail in the dnd tabletop role-playing game ahhaha.

Of course, Greedfall managed to surprise me with its graphics and details in the first hour. When I look at the environment I can feel the texture of the buildings. You see the pictures in a little bit low quality because my internet is not very good and it takes time to upload so I reduced the quality a little bit. But you can still see some details. Especially the clothes people are wearing are very well done.

The graphics like the sidewalks on the streets, the details of the cobblestones, the plants growing behind them are very successful. Not only that, the wooden and parquet floors inside the buildings are also very well done. Carpets and other similar textile motifs also offer a very nice atmosphere.

A Little Missed Opportunity: Music

For some reason, the soundtrack and the sounds of the environment didn't really grab me. I really didn't like it very much. Maybe because the first region is a region of disease and poverty, they may have purposely turned down the music here. Because one of the tactics used to make things stand out is the tactic of destruction. In my dungeons and dragons tabletop games, I sometimes turn off the music on purpose so that my players understand the seriousness of the situation.

I'm sure that once you're off the island, the music will come back more and it will have more impact on the game. But for now, I found the ambient sounds and music a bit lacking, maybe a single violin or cello could have been used more generously to give a sense of pain. Honestly, since it's a detail worth mentioning, I wrote a blog about the effect of music in games in the past months. I couldn't not mention it here.

Loot - Map - Equipment

The game shows and teaches you all of this at the beginning. Of course you don't expect to find very good quality equipment. But there are enemies, punks, that you can defeat from the very beginning. I looted the coat you see on me from them. There are also things like shoes, jewelry and stuff like that. I think it could be a great build with a lot of detail in the future. Honestly, I could look on the internet right now and search for the best loot and stuff like that, but I know I'll get spoilers if I do that.

Right now the map is open because we know our city and the quests in the area we're in are marked. I'm sure we'll get other maps as we explore, but the first hour of the game, maybe 2 hours if you're a detail-oriented person like me, is spent here. So I wasn't very interested in the map or the loot, primarily for the joy of exploring the city and understanding what's going on around me. I'm sure I'll get much more important items as I explore new places in the future.

Final Thoughts I'll Play Again

It's a game with a lot of positives. The storytelling started really well. It clearly shows what's going on in the environment. Character creation and combat training are successful. The details in the graphics are successful. The feeling it gives is good. It can draw you into the game and its world.

I want to play the game, which is the most important criterion. If a game makes you want to open it again after you close it, that game is successful. If you forget about it after turning it off and when you think about turning it back on, you'd rather do something else, then it's a failure.

Greedfall started successfully. My impression for the first hour is 8/10. That's 1 point each for the music and the ambient sounds. But I will have the opportunity to play more in the coming days and I think I will write a review again in a few weeks, maybe in 2 months or so. I will tell you more in detail then.

I hope you will also have the opportunity to play this game. Thank you very much for reading. Take care of yourselves.

Sort:  

I tried so hard to get into this game, but I just couldn't. I do like the fact that there are multiple ways around missions, though!

Yess that is a good touch it shows we have a lot of options for character builds 🙏

This isn't a new game right? It looks nice, well I kind of want to play it because of the era the game plays off in.... Looks like it can have a rich story line.

I had an opportunity to play today as well, it is getting better every chapter 😁

I liked this game a normal amount but I thought it was extremely lazy on their part that every single castle had essentially exactly the same layout. I get that smaller studios need to reuse resources to get a game out to market but that was a bit much IMO. Every castle is exactly the same?

I will answer this after some time of play in my next post because i was able to play only 2 3 hours and I'm slow burn detail maniac player 😁

The game looks really nice and it's great that it's so detailed. Maybe Straw would like to try this game in the future. I don't want to bother him with too many pings. As for the music, maybe the music will change in the future and you might like it. A lot of games do that.

I'm now in different area and it is getting better 😌 i will make a detailed review after 10+ hours 😁

Greetings friend, I had heard a little about this game and now seeing every detail and these first impressions is incredible and I liked how little by little it is taking a very good path to full of surprises and each of the adventures to give you a lot of excitement. In addition, each of these aspects are incredible and allow it to be a very realistic game and perfect for having a great time playing, I will definitely have to look for it and start playing, it will be available for phones or it can only be found on the pages you mention game. Since there is a great variety there, I would like to try them. Great that you have decided to start this story and now many new and interesting things will come.