The Roles We Play

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

roleplayinggimmick4.jpg
A Costume for any Role! 9000 hours in mspaint
Roleplaying is part of the fun for me while playing a video game, it adds another level of story to my character that might have never existed. When I played World of Warcraft I gave my Undead Warlock a persona, this persona made the game seem more fun while questing because now I could make a story about why the Warlock was collecting 10 bear asses instead of razing the enemy faction.

because the bears in the area were starting to trouble our troops!

bearasses.png
(Image from WoWhead)

As I moved towards other games the story creation for characters kept coming back to me and now I want to see how the game and my gameplay are affected as I play with this 'Roleplay' mindset. How would the game treat me as I play with a specific goal and story for my playable character? What type of results will I uncover from the different play style? This experiment might allow me to see an aspect of the game that I never would have seen if I had played regularly and could spark some unique conversations with teammates when I chat with them.

Don't worry, I won't be a deadweight member of the team but I will be playing within my set parameters.

What do you think about my endeavor? Is it a poor attempt at trying to add another layer to gaming? Maybe setting limits to play a specific way is silly? I don't know, tell me what you think!

Happy Gaming.

Sort:  

I never had the dedication (And imagination) to do something like that, in my opinion is amazing... you can enjoy (almost) any story in a whole different level.

I tried doing something like this in WoW myself once but I tend to just find it fun for a little while then stop. I do not think it's a poor attempt to add another layer to gaming at all. Whatever makes it fun to you is what makes it good.

 2 years ago  

I approve. games are meant to be fun and recreational.

Yup, I've been doing this for my entire life, treating games of any possible genre like RPGs. Making up a backstory for my character, creating their personality in my mind and acting accordingly. So yeah, I can imagine playing a character who's obsessed with collecting bear asses even if it doesn't influence the plot or gameplay...
...well, sometimes I took things too far. I remember one GTA4 run when I played as Repentant Niko who obeyed all traffic laws (you know, stopping on the red light and so on) because he was so sorry about his past as a criminal (and war criminal).

These are the kinds of backstories which add layers to a character's story arc that would be good to read.

Never heard of this game until now but it does look like one of those games where you can spend hours and hours and still have plenty of things to do in it. That's nice!

Congratulations @asynckronism! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 300 replies.
Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 18
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!